The Road to Publication

Here we go!

I’m not going to sugar coat this. I really don’t like blogging or spending a lot of time on the internet. I don’t have cable, or even regular channels on my television. But, I’m starting a blog because I believe it will truly help me as a writer. Have I ever been published? No. And yet, I am a writer. I hope this blogging journey will help me to grow, in technique, imagination, and by making friends with other writers.

As many of my friends would say, I’m 28 going on 85. Yet, I’ve written a book and now I’m actively pursuing publication. And the genre of said book? – middle grade fantasy fiction.

Shocking, right? It must be hard to imagine an 85 year-old at heart writing a book for young kids, but it’s true. I’ve spent the past ten years planning, writing, researching, detailing, and editing my first book. High school, college, and graduate school slowed my progress, especially since my degrees have absolutely nothing to do with creative writing.

Since I was a young child, I’ve wanted to be a writer. I guess I’m a bit of a wimp. I didn’t have the gumption to be a true starving artist, and became a physical therapist, instead, thinking it was a pragmatic decision. But now, I’m starving more than I probably would have been as a full-time writer. I love being a PT, but my true passion is writing.

This book is the first in a series for middle grade readers, but I have a great many other projects in other genres and age-ranges.

I’ve never been published, and feel like a definite noob, but I’ve researched my brains out trying to find the best agencies and submitting a query letter I’m not ashamed of.

I’ll be chronicling my experiences on the road to publication and hopefully one day, you’ll see my name in print.

Happy Writing!

“You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.”
― Madeleine L’Engle

Leave a Reply

