Should Have Given Up Road Rage for Lent

I suppose it’s never too late to change my Lenten sacrifice, but I think I would fail miserably if I really did try to give up road rage for Lent.

Image

I can’t help it. It must be because I have a tendency to bottle my emotions and remain a calm, placid drone in the workplace that I have such intense emotions on the road.

Don’t get my wrong, I love to drive. I just don’t like driving with other drivers on the road.

Maybe I should try to get over that.

It seems to me that people are getting dumber (or I’m getting smart. I favor the former) when it comes to driving. And I still can’t believe how many people neglect to have the blinker option installed in their cars! I didn’t even know it was an option! How intriguing.

Thankfully, some of this rage has been turned into great inspiration and passion for writing. I’m able to plot the demise of many characters while dealing with the idiots on the road. The frustration level I feel makes me want to go postal on the bevy of idiots with whom I share the road, and since I can’t do that in real life without nasty legal complications, I’m able to kill, maim, destroy, or torture characters in my books, and I should be ashamed to say (but I’m not), that I enjoy it very much.

So maybe I should be thanking all those people on the road that drive me nuts and make me want to ram into a cement pylon. You are what make the deaths of my characters possible.

Thank you.

“I try to make the readers feel they’ve lived the events of the book. Just as you grieve if a friend is killed, you should grieve if a fictional character is killed. You should care. If somebody dies and you just go get more popcorn, it’s a superficial experience isn’t it?” George R. R. Martin

Leave a Reply

