Retribution

Have you had the work woes recently?

I have. As many of us do.

There have been so many ups and downs at my job in the last six months that I feel like one big doormat that people think they can use, re-use, and discard. It’s a terrible feeling.

I won’t get into the specifics, because I don’t want anything to bite me in the tuckus later on down the road, but needless to say, I feel very taken advantage of. Is it because I’m a hard worker and always do what my boss asks of me (within my job description, of course)? Is it because I get all my work done in a timely fashion and have a good rapport with my clients and co-workers?

Why is it that semi-rude to blatantly rude people seem to make it up the ladder quicker than us complying, friendly people? I try not to let people walk all over me, but if something needs done and I have the time, why not do it? I’d rather save someone else the time and energy later if I can get it down now.

Is it because of these things that the bosses think they can push and pull me ten ways from Friday? I honestly don’t understand why “nice guys finish last.” That isn’t just true in relationships, people. It’s definitely true in the workplace.

But, you know what? As a writer, I can exact a cunning and devious revenge.

I can create characters and kill them off! Which is what I REALLY feel like doing right now. I have a bevy of anger welling up inside of me, and it’s making me a little ambivalent, even traitorous against some of my characters. I want someone to die, and the scene will be gruesome.

Does that sound terrible? I can’t tell. I think it’s a better outlet than telling my boss to ‘shove it,’ but sometimes it feels wrong to base a character on someone I don’t like just so I can kill them off.

Although my sadistic side would LOVE to do that right now.

So, Mildred the Sadist is going to take center stage for a while. MWAHAHA!!!

Let’s see who gets the ax first, hmm???

“I don’t know where people got the idea that characters in books are supposed to be likable. Books are not in the business of creating merely likeable characters with whom you can have some simple identification with. Books are in the business of creating great stories that make your brain go ahhbdgbdmerhbergurhbudgerbudbaaarr.”
― John Green

Leave a Reply

