Query Storm

What. A. Week.

Have you ever felt like doing this?

Image

This is a pretty apt portrayal of what I felt like doing all week. It’s just been insane, and go-go-go! I’m a definite introvert and homebody, so being gone from my apartment for upwards of 15 hours each day taxes my strength and my sanity. How I longed for the comfort of my well-worn, butt-imprinted couch with my laptop, books, notes, and all-around mess that makes up my writing space. I was only able to write a total of about 450 words this whole week! And that was just a jolt of inspiration that required fast writing during a lunch hour on Monday. Other than that, this blog will probably consume more text than anything I’ve written in my books this week.

I know I should be positive and say, “At least I wrote SOMETHING this week!” But my mood just won’t allow it. I’m selfish. And an over-achiever. For the past two months, I’ve written at least 10,000 words each week. I realize this will not always be, but it’s been so amazing to have the inspiration and time to write. This week, Mildred was very cranky that she had to be suppressed in order for me to fulfill my obligations. I can see her roaring like a lion as we speak, and batting her cane at my head to “get a move on!” and get back to writing.

I work four days a week, ten hours a day, so I usually have three-day weekends. (I’m spoiled, I know). Evenings are reserved for writing and generally ignoring all housekeeping duties, and the weekends are for mega-writing and a few hours of cleaning so I don’t become buried in my creative juices.

To make up for my lack of writing this week, I’ve spent the morning on a query blitz. I reviewed all the agencies I wanted to send a query letter to (I’ve sent three in the past few weeks), and now I’m prepping ye olde query letter to send to 8 different places. Hopefully within the next day or two.

My query letter is a bit unconventional, but I’m hoping that’s what will make it stand out from the others. I’ve sent out an older version of my letter and it never sparked a reply, so I did a bit more research, a LOT more editing, then I wiped the slate clean and started from scratch.

But since my current query letter is unconventional, I am, of course, nervous that it will get tossed into the garbage can before anyone even reads my manuscript.

I’ve read and re-read the Guide to Literary Agents, and have picked out the places I think I can send my book. Since it’s a middle-grade book, not as many agencies are willing to take it on. Therefore, I’ve come to a crossroads. Should I “damn the torpedoes, and full speed ahead” with a query that may be regarded as too different? Should I send it to every agency I’ve starred as is, or should I leave a few out, just in case.

I’ve always been a “just in case” type of person, and sometimes it gets a bit old. Any thoughts?

Does anyone have a few tidbits of wisdom concerning the crux of my problem? I’d love any insights you could offer.

Thanks, and happy writing!

“Persistence can look a lot like stupid.”
― Kristen Lamb

“Publishing a book is like stuffing a note into a bottle and hurling it into the sea. Some bottles drown, some come safe to land, where the notes are read and then possibly cherished, or else misinterpreted, or else understood all too well by those who hate the message. You never know who your readers might be.”
― Margaret Atwood

2 thoughts on “Query Storm

  1. Sounds like a tough time, but think of how much more amazing you’ll be when you get through it all 🙂

    Some weeks are just crazy hard, but you got to go with flow at times and see it through (the worst advice ever, I know, sorry!) 😀

Leave a Reply

