Liebster Blog Award! Who’d have thunk it?

Image

Wow. It’s amazing! I’ve been nominated for my second blogging award after beginning less than two months ago. 

This one is the Liebster Award, and I think it’s awesome!

First of all, I want to sincerely thank my fellow blogger and writing friend, John Guillen over at Write me a book, John. Go check out his posts. I comment on MANY of them. He always has something interesting to say.

According to the Rules of Ye Olde Liebster Award, I’m to do the following:

1. Post 11 random facts about yourself.

2. Answer the 11 questions the awarding blogger has posted for you.

3. Nominate 11 bloggers (with less than 200 followers) for the award and link them in your post.

4. Let the bloggers you have nominated know they’re nominated.

5. No tag backs.

So here goes nothing. Despite my reticence to reveal too much personal information about myself, I will divulge randomness about myself that will in no way be a full picture of who I am.

11 Random Facts

1. I’m the youngest of four, but I often act like the oldest. 

2. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Exercise Science and Kinesiology, as well as a Doctorate in Physical Therapy. (I’m such a nerd).

3. I LOVE LOVE LOVE to travel, but can’t afford it. (Can you say student loan debt? Yeesh!)

4. I’m training for a triathlon in August, which I hope to be the first of many.

5. I’m a cradle Catholic. My college years were a time of questioning, but when grad school started, something (or Someone?) brought me back into my faith in a big way. I’m very spiritual/religious/devout/etc. Deal with it.

6. I want to adopt a bunch of kids. I’ve wanted to since I was a kid, myself.

7. I love experimenting in the kitchen. I rarely use a recipe book, and just throw a bunch of stuff together and hope that it turns out tasty. (Mostly it does, though I’ve had some doozies!)

8. I’m a mega-introvert. 

9. I’ve never been to a concert before (aside from high school bands and the choir I’m in). See #8.

10. I’m calm as a summer breeze, yet I’m surrounded by friends who are as turbulent as a hurricane.

11. Umm… man… coming up with 11 random facts is hard. I guess this last one will be… My favorite movies of all time are the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Really, I consider them one REALLY long movie. And yes, I cry when I watch it. Every time.

 

Whew! Okay. So, on to the questions. John saddled me with some doozies (thanks a lot, John). 🙂

 

1. What kind of music do you like to listen to while writing, if any at all?

I rarely listen to music when I write. It’s too distracting. If it has any lyrics in it at all, I find myself singing along. I’ve been in choirs since I was seven, so I just can’t help myself. If I’m in the need of musical inspiration, I turn to the classical composers, specifically Franz Schubert. He doesn’t get enough credit for his work.

2. What is it about writing that keeps you going, even when you’re not sure you want to continue?

I’ll explode if I don’t get them out of me. My imagination is uber vivid (as most writers’ are), and it would drive me to distraction if I couldn’t get the story ideas that pop into my head down on paper. Even if they never get published, I still like to read them. Because, let’s face it, I’m awesome. 😛

3. Who is your favourite author?

Yeesh! That’s a hard one. I have several. I will answer this question not by stating who my favorite writer is, but who has impacted me and my writing the most. For that, I direct you to my post from yesterday, right here.

4. What genre do you read, but swear you’ll never write?

I don’t think there is one. The genres I have no interest in writing are usually the ones I don’t read. I have the beginnings of or are working on books in the following genres: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Christian, Romance, Murder Mystery, Satire. And that spans the ages of the very young to the very old. My current project is a middle grade fantasy series, but the other two things I’m working on at the moment are a Romantic Comedy (a clean one) that is, essentially, Chick Lit, as well as a grim dystopian futuristic harbinger of doom. So there you have it. I guess I’d like to write a non-fiction book (on who knows what), but I think my fiction writing abilities are far stronger. And I enjoy it more.

5. What do you do when you tell yourself something along the lines of ‘I’ll only procrastinate a little bit longer’?

First of all, I never say that to myself. Mostly because I don’t want to admit that I’m procrastinating. Usually I tell myself, ‘Oh, you have so many other things you need to be doing right now.’ But it’s all malarkey. When in doubt, I’ve got a book in my hand, snuggled in my bed. 

6. What brings you right into a writing mood, and how do you keep it that way?

If I’m struggling with writer’s block, I re-read my own work, because sometimes that gets the creative juices flowing, or I stare at a bunch of pretty pictures of people, landscapes, architecture, etc. There’s always something to be found in the beauty of art. Since I work multiple jobs, I don’t have the luxury of waiting for inspiration to strike. As Jack London says, “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” You’ll find me most days with club in hand.

7. Favourite series, and favourite stand alone?

Favorites series is Anne of Green Gables. Stand alone is too hard to pick. Recently, I’d have to say Dear Mr. Knightley or Persuasion. (Can you tell I like Jane Austen?)

8. Have you ever seriously screwed up your sleeping schedule because of a book? Was it worth it, and what were you reading?

Yes, Yes, and I can’t remember. It’s happened far too many times. After all, books are way more important than being mentally present during the work day, right? Right? RIGHT?

9. What do you do to remember those ideas you come up with when you’re not able to write?

I dictate them into my iPhone, or I repeat them to myself over and over and over until I’ve got it fixed in my brain. And if I do forget it, usually once I get back into the writing, it comes back to me.

10. Are there any books or series that you thought were great, and then the ending just ruined everything for you?

Yes, but only because the author died before finishing the story. It was Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell. There literally is no published ending to it, but the author had left notes on how it would end. Blech. I like the ending I came up with on my own much better. But who am I to tamper with greatness? A gutsy woman, that’s who.

11. Why do you write?

Because I can’t help it. It’s a part of who I am. 

 

All right, jeez! That’s quite enough about me, don’t you think? On to the nominations!

1. David J. Delaney

2. theferganator

3. Christopher Peter

4. Christine Plouvier

5. melsj

I only included 5 (sorry to be breaking the rules), because I think they’re the most worthy of those that meet the requirements. I don’t want to go willy-nilly giving out awards just because. 

And I’m going to go along with John and have the nominees answer the same questions that I did. Primarily because I want to read their answers!

Thanks for playing along, and congrats to the nominees!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award! Who’d have thunk it?

  1. Hmm. The introvert thing, check. The concert thing, check. I went to my first when I was 17. Then two more the next year and none since. They were all country too. And the LOTR movies are the definition of epic. When everyone bows down to Frodo and them, oh man the tears are flowing. Haha

    • Oh, for true! But the scene that gets me the most is only in the extended edition, where Eomer screams and cries when he sees his sister wounded on the battle field. BUCKETS O TEARS! And when the Rohan warriors are descending upon the field in front of Minas Tirith. The epic-ness of it always takes my breath away.

      Man. I really am a nerd! But I love it.

  2. Pingback: Liebster | melsj
  3. I’d thunk it. haha. Congrats! Number 10. You must be the calm before the storm. My husband is the the quite, placid one, I’m super hyper and a little crazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

