Taking the Plunge

Image

Yep. You heard it here. I’m taking the plunge.

No, I’m not getting married.

No, I’m not quitting my job.

No, I’m not going on a interstellar exploration. Bummer about that one.

Yesterday, after two months of blogging, I admitted to Facebook land that I had started a blog about my writing. Why has it taken me two months to share this particular bit of news?

I guess it’s because I felt like I’d be shamelessly self-promoting. I understand that self-promotion in this biz is important, but I’ve had just a wee problem with self-confidence my whole life and, while I’m proud of what I’ve written, readers and the world at large can be harsh.

I wanted to protect my little ol’ self and my writing, so that I wasn’t open to criticism about my work. 

But you know what? I’m getting over that. I’m not ashamed of being a writer. I’m not ashamed to put myself and my writing out for the world to see. I’m going to damn the torpedoes and full speed ahead!

 

(Ignore the little girl quaking in her boots. That’s just a mirage).

 

Happy writing!

 

“Because one believes in oneself, one doesn’t try to convince others. Because one is content with oneself, one doesn’t need others’ approval. Because one accepts oneself, the whole world accepts him or her.” 
― Lao Tzu

“You’re gorgeous, you old hag, and if I could give you just one gift ever for the rest of your life it would be this. Confidence. It would be the gift of confidence. Either that or a scented candle.” 
― David NichollsOne Day

16 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge

  1. If you’ve got a decently sized, responsive following on facebook, I suppose getting them involved could be a good thing. But for some of us, it’s just a vast wasteland, where tumbleweeds outnumber the folks who know us, and when we speak (as another blogger told me), we hear only crickets….

    • I feel ya about the crickets sometimes, but I’m blessed to have some great followers/friends, and they’ve been nothing but supportive. I think it was a good move, if only to further fuel the fire of my writing passion. As for those crickets… they’re easily silenced by a heavy boot. 🙂

  2. I love this post! I had gone through some drama with playwrights and I just had to set the record straight, on Facebook. I don’t want to hide or be ashamed that I’m a writer, either. This was my post: What you think or how anyone perceives me is their choice, what I’m willing to do or tell is mine. I owe no one an explanation of how I do business, what I write, or who I decide to work with professionally. Even on a professional level I have made mistakes, but have learned a great deal from them. I’m over drama in this industry. No one gave me my gift nor can they take it away, it’s apart of me, it’s in my DNA. I’m a writer and that’s my craft. I’m over frivolous people, things, and situations. My focus is to write up a blank page whether it’s in word, final draft, blog or a journal. My job is to just simply be a writer, love every minute of it, and always perfect my craft. I could care less what anyone thinks of me and my choices to succeed.

    I think it fits for your blog post for today. How exhausting, right? Well, I’m not exhausted, not anymore, anyway.

  3. You waited two months to tell people you know about your blog about your writing? Why? Pretty sure it took me all of two minutes to tell myself what a great blog you have and that I want your book. When it’s published. So yeah. You loca. Haha

      • Haha I just wanted to keep my thoughts to myself. In case you’re overly sensitive. 😉

        I just hope your friends and family are better than mine. NO ONE I know reads mine. Unless I name them in the post. How ugh. Haha

  4. Thanks for sharing this. Yes, self confidence can be a big issue for many of us writers. I did actually mention my blog on Facebook as soon as it started, but I don’t have many Facebook friends and I don’t go on there much. I mainly use it to find or keep in touch with old or distant friends; it’s not a mainstay of my social life. And I haven’t mentioned it on FB since – probably should.

    I do however feel slightly reticent about discussing my writing with some people. And I do feel slightly ashamed that I’m ‘only’ self-published – maybe I shouldn’t, but let’s face it, putting your work up on Amazon is something anyone can do and that’s both a good and bad thing. The quality often isn’t great and the world knows it. (Of course some is also very good.)

    My work colleagues also don’t know about my writing, and as Christopher Peter isn’t my real name they’re unlikely to accidentally find out. The reason is that I work in publishing (though not fiction publishing sadly, so no really useful contacts) and in particular with vendors, including POD printers. It’s therefore entirely possible that one of my books could print at one of those vendors, which would be a potential conflict of interest. I have print reps contact me all the time – if one of them found out they were printing my book, it wouldn’t be a comfortable situation.

    But I have a sneaking suspicion that the above is partly a big excuse, that the real reason is my shyness about writing. Not an ideal trait in a self-published writer, entirely responsible for publicizing their own work.

    • I think it requires guts and a whole lot of heart to publish in any medium, self- or traditional-style. Putting ourselves out there, albeit anonymously, is still a tenacious move, and even though others may not know who you are, YOU certainly know, therefore the comments and critiques and such affect you just as much as any other writer. Don’t disparage yourself, since we all feel some measure of insecurity with our writing. One day, I’m sure you will “come out” so to speak, but until that day comes, keep plugging along. You sound like you have a good head on your shoulders and a passion for your writing. That’s all that counts.

  5. Way to go! It’s terrifying to tell people about your writing. It’s only your heart and soul and hopes and dreams and entire being that you’ve poured into these words on a page–or screen, as the case may be. You’re awesome for taking the leap and telling the world you’re a writer.

    • Thank you! And thanks for commenting! I was blessed to have an amazing outpouring of support and love when I posted. I know there will always be naysayers, but I’m glad that none showed their ‘faces’ after my post.

Leave a Reply

