Writer’s Hangover

Image

 

Ugh… I’m suffering through a writing hangover from two straight days of editing and writing. In two different books. And the writing part was an emotionally charged scene with lots of tears and dramatic revelations.

My heart was pounding and I could feel my blood pressure rising just writing the darned scene. But that’s a good thing, right?

It’s not the first time this has happened. For some reason, I do some of my best work late at night, despite the fact that I’m usually an early bird. When I woke up this morning, I had a headache, achy joints, and a bad taste in my mouth.

I don’t regret the writing that was accomplished, but isn’t there some way that I can get through days/nights like that without waking up feeling like the underside of a wet garbage bag?

Does this happen to anyone else?

Please share. And happy writing! (Hopefully without the hangover).

 

 “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.”

– Robert Frost

“Happiness is, waking up without a hangover.” 
― Robert Black

 

 

(Photo courtesy of Google Images and UShumor.com)

 

9 thoughts on “Writer’s Hangover

  1. Writing can take up so much focused that when I stop I’m in a bit of a daze and it takes me a while to come back to reality 😀 Congrats on all the progress though!

Leave a Reply

