Another Year Older

Image (Credit Mosta2bal.com)

It’s here again. My birthday.

When I was younger, I enjoyed my birthday enough, but I was sadly one of those kids who didn’t get many invites to parties, or who didn’t have many friends come to their own. Unless their parents made them.

I only remember one birthday party where there were actual classmates/”friends” invited formally, and I have no fond memories of it.

I’ve never been a party person, so I really don’t think my birthday is any big deal. I’m not ashamed to be older, I just figure it’s the passing of time, ya know?

Today I turn 29. One year closer to 30. I can already tell you that some exciting things will be in store for me this year.

No, I don’t have an agent yet, but I can feel the excitement coursing through me over some career changes and further writing advancements.

I’ve decided to spend my birthday sending out more queries, since I have heard a word from the six places I’ve queried in the last couple months. I’m not disheartened, just accepting that most people get rejected multiple times before they find someone that understands and enjoys their work.

It may sound like a boring day to some, but writing and reading are my very favorite things to do, so why not make a day of it? Especially since I took the day off of work, which is my sole concession to making any fanfare about my birthday.

Off to the books I go! No worries, I won’t go TOO crazy…

Image(Photo credit Mosta2bal.com)

 

Happy writing!

 

 

“Birthdays are good for you. Statistics show that the people who have the most live the longest.” 
― Larry Lorenzoni

 

“Link says if a girl says not to get her a birthday present that means get me a birthday present and make sure it’s jewelry.” 
― Kami GarciaBeautiful Creatures

 

19 thoughts on “Another Year Older

  1. I know what ypu mean about birthdays. Im 29 too and I did nothing. Bit I love to read and write too. I did a lot of that. Many of my friends work,have lives that im not included in anymore, and just don’t get me. But, thats okay. Being a writer is great. I dont have an agent either yet. I habe a manager but its like im on my own lol. I hope you have a great day today in spite of. And I know all about rejection, I got 7 of them this week. But, the author of Harry Potter was rejected 30 times. Keep grinding.

  2. Happy birthday! 🙂 Spending it writing more queries? Hmm. If anyone ever tells you you’re not a writer you can tell them, “Yes I am! This is what I did on my birthday!” Haha

  3. Well, Happy Birthday. Your childhood and your birthdays sound an awful lot like mine. And I like your attitude about queries and a bunch of other stuff in there, too, like your taste in dog photos.

Leave a Reply

