A Wee Small Problem

I was going to title this post “Bedroom Confessional,” but that’s a bit too risqué for me. 

Notice anything about the following picture?

Image

 

How about this one?

Image

Or this one?

Image

 

(Besides the big book at the bottom that says Lust. That’s just a comic book. Called “Lust: And Other Uses for Spare Hormones.” It’s in the Zits comic family. Hilarious! And one of my guilty pleasures).

Anywho…

Can anybody guess what kind of problem I have going on here? 

Some might say it’s my TBR (to-be-read) list. But sadly, not. These are my CR (currently reading) books. And that was after I had taken down some of the trembling stacks of books perched above my head.

But let’s face it. Every single book I own is on my CR list. I never could understand how people could read a book only once. It boggles my mind! There are so many nuances that are missed on the first go-round. Maybe it’s because I’m a speed-reader, and even when I force myself to slow down, it drives me nuts after a few seconds and I have to speed back up. I can’t help it! 

And the answer to your question is: Yes. I have been awoken in the middle of the night by a pile of books falling on my head. More than once, I’m afraid.

I can’t seem to help myself. Maybe I’m a little ADD? I’ve never been tested, but my dad is, so it would make sense.

This lovely pile of books constitutes everything that I am currently reading. And that’s maybe, MAYBE, 1/15th of my book collection. If my bookcase weren’t a bit messy, I’d take a pic of that too, with evidence of the spillage of books from one shelf to another. The shelves are two and three books deep, in a wide variety of topics and genres.

What’s wrong with me? Why can’t I just finish one book at a time?

I have a problem.

The problem is too many fabulous books.

That’s right. I’m blaming you all and every other writer on the planet for being far too talented for your own good.

How does taking the blame feel, hmm??? It’s all your fault.

 

Happy writing! (Although I don’t know why I’m saying that since all your books will just be added to my forever mountainous stack of books. Dang you, talented people!!!)

 

“[I] read books because I love them, not because I think I should read them.” 
― Simon Van Booy

“I read like the flame reads the wood.” 
― Alfred Döblin

“…there are so many books left to read. For that reason alone it is worth going on living. Books make me happy, the help me escape from reality.” 
― Félix J. PalmaThe Map of the Sky

17 thoughts on “A Wee Small Problem

  1. You definitely have a problem. I thought it was funny that you’ve been awoken at night with by books falling on your head. Haha

    And I’ve never understood how someone could read multiple books at once or reread any book. Think of all the nooks you’ll never get to read! Do I get to take some credit for this? Since you just read my book. I think yes.

  2. LOL! That, dear friend, is the EXACT reason I am currently in the process of switching over to a Nook! (Well, that plus the incredibly heavy boxes of books when I move.) Best wishes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

