Midnight Musings

Image

Yep. That’s me right about now.

I feel like I fell off the WP wheel of the world for a few days. It has been a RIOTOUS week/weekend that wasn’t/beginning of the work week.

I was out of town all weekend, driving all over the southeastern side of the state, planning and executing a bridal shower, going to my parents’ for Mother’s Day, and driving home to an apartment that has seen the seedy underbelly of an insane schedule.

I didn’t sleep well at all (I never do when I’m anywhere but my own bed), so, naturally, I assumed I’d fall into bed and pass out for a good, solid 8 hours of noggin-resting.

Nope.

Nope, Nope, Nope!

Ergh!

At about midnight last night, my latent and recently lazy muse decided to come fully awake with the ideas and creative juices that have been sorely lacking in the last couple of weeks.

My muse is a masochist, I swear.

I couldn’t shut my brain up, and I almost cried from sheer exhaustion.

I guess there’s nothing like utter physical and mental burnout as a catalyst for some of the most important backstory and plotting I’ve had in the last few months.

Needless to say, I’m drunk on lack of sleep. And acting loopy.

Wait… that’s just a normal day for me. Hmm…

What do you do when your muse deprives you of necessary sleep? I told mine to shut up and wait until morning. And she did.

Man, I didn’t think she was that biddable. Take that, Mildred!

Happy writing!

“I love you, Lucien, but I am a muse, you are an artist, I am not here to make you comfortable.” 
― Christopher MooreSacré Bleu: A Comedy d’Art

“The muses are ghosts, and sometimes they come uninvited.” 
― Stephen KingBag of Bones

16 thoughts on “Midnight Musings

  1. I think while you were gone, Mildred stayed home and worked on new plots, characters and twists…and she was jealous that you got to go off and have some fun. So when you got home, what was more fair than her screaming at the top of her lungs for you to get out of bed and make her visions come to life? 😀 I’m glad you’re back. Now get some sleep! 😉

Leave a Reply

