Hermit in Training

Image

WARNING: Pitiful rant ahead.

Lately, I’ve been feeling more and more like removing myself from society. A hermitage sounds mighty appealing to me right now. 

Just me, my writing, my books, my music, and my solitude.

Society, social media, drama, anger, violence, hatred… I feel like I’m just a step away from a nasty precipice, and that I’ll soon be jostled over the edge by the ever-changing forces of nature and culture. And that’s just in my own sphere of work/life.

I’ve always been a bit of a loner, although I do have a few close friends. I’m not good at social situations, and I hate large crowds and noisy places. But recently, I’ve felt oppressed by the utter lack of love and respect for other people. The internet is making me sick. I’m sick of Facebook, sick of Pinterest, sick of e-mail. WP is one of the only things I’m not sick of. Probably because it’s an outlet for my writing and I get to interact with other people like myself.

I’ve met more people on WP that I can relate to in my weird, unique writing/reading introvert personality-type way than anywhere else in my life.

So thank you for keeping me from a hermit’s life, I guess. Although seriously, can’t I just lock myself away somewhere for a few years? I’d get SO much writing and reading done, and I know I’d emerge a new person.

A disheveled and scary-looking person, I’m sure. But new. 

Maybe I’m just weak. Maybe I don’t have the emotional strength to deal with society. I feel trampled by it. 

Does anyone else feel that way?

Just sayin.

Happy writing, my friends.

 

“If I were to envy any persons on this planet, it would be mountain hermits. You often hear old platitudes such as, ‘Speak out. Be heard.’ On the contrary, a breath of fresh air would be something like: ‘Silence, think for at least 15 minutes, and then maybe speak out.” 
― Criss Jami

“A hermit is simply a person to whom civilization has failed to adjust itself.” 
― Will Cuppy

21 thoughts on “Hermit in Training

  1. Sometimes I dream of being a hermit too. The great thing about writing is that it can be a hermitage even if it’s only for a little while each day. The bad thing about writing is that if you want to be taken seriously by the publishing industry and by readers, you need to be steeped in social media.

    • Thanks for commenting! Yeah, it’s a double edged sword, that’s for sure. One of the reasons I started my blog was because all the research I’d done on publishing and landing an agent said I needed to have an online presence. So here I’ve been. I’ve avoided Twitter like the plague, but I’ll take it up if I have to. I’m glad there’s someone who understands. 🙂

  2. Yes. Yes yes yes. Every so often I have to go on an internet strike because I’m so sick of seeing people being rude and nasty and awful to each other all over the place. I’ve been trying to decide if I could get away with a rant about common courtesy on my blog 🙂

    Also, love the Doctor Who quote 🙂

    • I say, rant away! It’s cathartic. At least, it was for me.

      And I’m a bit of a Whovian, so I couldn’t help myself.
      🙂 There are FAR too many references in Doctor Who that I could use, but I try to limit them. Since that’s not what my blog’s about and all. 😉

  3. When I’m feeling a little low i have the tendency to shut down and this is a defence mechanism, but in the end it just perpetuates the situation. I’m not a fan of social media, it takes time away from actual living, but as you said publishers want a platform. The one thing i have enjoyed though is connecting to many like minded people, hang in there 🙂

  4. Before my husband left for his 6 weeks of training he said to me “don’t become a hermit lady” because he knows I easily could. I love that when he’s gone all I have to do is go to work and come home and read. I read from about noon till 6 last night (I had to stop for Game of Thrones) and it was fantastic. And I agree, I hate social media, the only reason I still have a fb is because all my friends had strokes when I talked about dissolving it after college, I mean it’s called a phone, or even e-mail, I don’t understand why fb is a friendship deal breaker. And after a weekend of being social, I am ready for a week of solitary. So we should definitely activate this Hermits United group.

    • Oooo!!! A whole day of reading? Sounds like heaven!

      Hermits United, here we come! But let’s not do anything too social, okay? Don’t think I could handle it. 😉

      And yeah, I went through the same thing with FB. People astonish me. And not in a good way.

  5. I’ve felt the same way too many times to count. When I read the ‘Quiet’ book, I was so ecstatic. There’s research backing up our desire for hermitopian lives! Introverts aren’t wired to run naked through all this social media. I just try to find a balance and make sure I have days where I don’t have to go on parade.

    • I started reading ‘Quiet’ but haven’t finished it. And your use of ‘hermitopian’ made my day!!

      And yes, I fully appreciate where you’re coming from. I’ve taken multiple days off of social media and it was fabulous. But I know it’s sort of a necessary evil.

  6. As much as this post is something I can wholeheartedly relate to and support, I want to tip my hat to your impeccable choice in quotes at the end. I obtained a Kindle book last year called “Cold Mountain: Transcendental Poetry,” which for me fit right into this desire we clearly share.

    Here is a link to that ebook on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0052GACDW/ref=kinw_myk_ro_title

    At any rate, I applaud your individuality, and implore you to stay strong during those times when you must at least pay attention to society, for whatever reason, for those times are trying upon a free spirit such as yours, yet often necessary in order to further one’s own ambitions, i.e., the progress of writing and disseminating such writing.

    🙂

  7. The Internet is a wonderful thing in general – or it can be. But sometimes it all seems a bit too much; and people can be very rude indeed (though not generally, as you say, on WP). And as writers we want to – well, write. So much to do, so little time.

Leave a Reply

