Was That Me?

Image Source Bubblews

 

Have you ever had a moment when you were reading your work and thinking, “Huh! That’s pretty darn good!”

I had a moment like that yesterday. I was writing in/reading my RomCom and came across a few lines every so often that made me stop and think, “Wowza! Who wrote that?”

I’m sure I sound awfully full of myself. But for the purposes of this post, it’s acceptable.

The strangest thing is, I don’t remember writing some of those lines. So I can attribute them to a few possibilities:

1. They were written during a late night/early morning writing session when my brain wouldn’t shut up, but my body was so tired it was falling out of its chair.

2. Mildred took over my consciousness for a while and put in a few things I never thought would come from my head.

3. I was so caught up in the scene and wanting to know how it ended, that I typed speedily away without really paying attention to what my characters were saying. Cuz, come on. We’ve all been there. The story is just so freakin’ awesome, we want to know how the heck it turns out!

4. Aliens took over my body.

I think #4 is highly unlikely. I’m going with 1-3 as my firm candidates.

So come on. Spill. Have you ever felt that rush, long after the writing was completed? When you looked at what you’d written and said, “Man. I’m good.” Anybody? I’ll feel terrible if I’m all alone in this.

Okay, not really. I still rock.

Happy writing!

 

“You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.” 
― Saul Bellow

“The more I write the more I learn about writing. It is easy to say what looks good or sound good on paper until you experience it for yourself.” 
― Jeanette Michelle

31 thoughts on “Was That Me?

  1. Well done! You deserve a cookie! I love when this happens. I immediately stop and pat myself on the back, because clearly I did something right if I impressed myself.
    I also love when I’m reading my own work after having put it down and thinking, “I’ll just launch into editing. No biggie.” And then twenty pages later I’m like “Wow, I wasn’t paying attention to anything but the story!”

  2. YES! I do have those moments. 😀 And then my kids tell me, “Mom! Quit breaking your arm patting yourself on the back!” LOL! And then i tell them, “But you don’t understand! I couldn’t have done this good if I tried! I don’t know HOW this happened!” LOL! I say, good for you! I love those moments when you discover that you really are an awesome writer! YAY, you!!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

