Nicknames: Yea or Nay?

Image(Squidoo)

A patient of mine christened me with a new nickname today at work: Sugar Booger.

I about died laughing. Then I had a kiss blown at me. It was hilarious to say the least.

Sugar Booger is not in my repertoire of nicknames thus far, in fact, I’d never heard of it before. But now that I’ve been dubbed Sugar Booger, I find I’d like to include it somewhere in my writing. Because, really, how can I not? It’s just too funny!

So that got me thinking over all my writings and I’ve realized, I use nicknames A LOT. Maybe I should tone down the nicknaming a bit, but since I grew up with dozens of nicknames, I guess it just kind of came naturally for my characters. A couple of them even have multiple nicknames, like I did. Although, I didn’t dub them my own nicknames.

So what’s your take on nicknames? Do you have one of your own? Have you nicknamed any of your characters? I’m curious!

Happy writing!

 

“Annabeth: Hey, Seaweed Brain.
Percy: Will you stop calling me that?
Annabeth: You know you love it.” 
― Rick Riordan

 

“Because I’ve got a lot more terms of endearment to use. Honey pie. Sugarplum. Bread pudding.”
“Why are they all high-calorie foods?” 
― Richelle MeadThe Indigo Spell

74 thoughts on “Nicknames: Yea or Nay?

  1. Ahahaha Sugar Booger! Oh my goodness! Greatest thing ever. 🙂

    No nicknames for my characters. But I want to know what your previous nicknames were since you said you had multiple. I had one in fifth grade. Bulldog.

    • I’m thinking my nicknames can be tied into my daily story-sharing with you.

      Here are a few:
      – Burger – basketball teammate gave me that one. Don’t know why.
      – Barf – High school friend and I called each other that. I still have a hard time calling him by his real name. Silly high school pranks.
      – Mom – because I act like one, apparently.
      – Grandma – because I act like one of them, as well.
      – Dee – stems from my last name.
      – Amy-bear/belle/boo/kins. Cutesy versions of my name from a variety of people.
      – G.G. – stands for gentle giant. Because I’m tall and non-violent. Except on this blog.
      – Amos – another variation on my name when there was more than one Amy
      – Root – too difficult to explain.
      – The Tower – again, from sports. Because I’m tall.
      – Apple Cheeks – from my dad. Because I blush easily and my cheeks turn red.
      – Mamie – a shortening of Miss Amy from when I worked at a camp for kids with disabilities.

      There are more, but I’ll have to think of them. I guess that’s all for now.

  2. I haven’t had very many, myself, except for a few growing up that I am still convinced were products of bullies…..

    But I would like to ask about one I have heard for others — Punkin?? As in Pumpkin, but I am a Southerner and people down here are crazy about nicknames. I had a girlfriend once whose grandma called her “Punkin” and I was a little weirded out by it. Dunno why…. Besides, pumpkin’s are more of a squat, round, large, lay around on the ground all day kind of fruit. So….random.

    I will also submit my favorite nickname of all time, from a stellar anime called Princess Jellyfish — “Meat.” The title character visits the main character for the first time and brings her roomates fancy expensive Japanese beef so from there on out the roomates use the nickname “Meat” for the title char.

    LOLz

    • MEAT! I love it! If you read any of the previous comments, you’ll see that one of my former nicknames was Burger. I now feel like I have a literary doppelganger. So awesome.

      And yeah, Pumpkin is pretty widely used up here in the north, as well. Not Punkin as much. I don’t know what the nickname came from. Maybe because so many people like pumpkin pie??? Mmmmm….

      • Pumpkin pie is my all-time favorite. And Thanksgiving my favorite holiday, of course!!
        Thanks for helping clear that up for me, I now remember why it would be a nickname of choice – it is the best dessert!!

  3. Well, Sugar Booger, yes, in fact, I do sometime give my characters nicknames. Not often, but sometimes. I used to have a niece that went by your new moniker, and I always had fun nicknames for my kids. Enjoy the new name! It sounds like fun! 😀 Great post! 😀

      • I used to call my son all sorts of names like Poindexter, Sugar Bear, and Sweet Babboo. Now lately we’re stuck on me calling him Smoodgie Bear and he calls me Mamma Bear. And sometimes I call him Shplinky. I used to call my daughter Gooberina and still do sometimes. Sometimes I call her Pookie. She calls me Short Legs McGee and Short Stack. And as for my sister Michelle, I call her Shelberta. So THERE are some funny names for you to use sometime. 😉

  4. I have never thought of giving my character’s nicknames and I feel like I’m missing out now! Other than just one guy calling his ex “Pretty Girl” that’s it. Now I know I have to come up with things because just about everyone I know has some form of a nickname. The postmaster always calls me Sunshine. I guess that counts. and I love the two quotes you used! Hilarious.

    • Thanks!!

      And I probably use too many nicknames. I’m definitely addicted. But to me, they show familiarity and caring. Or loathing. One of the meanies in my book nicknamed my MC something dreadful, the darn fink! 🙂

      • It is a great way to show a closeness between characters and I love it. In a Nora Roberts, the one gal named Mac is nicknamed Macadamia by her friend. I love it! Oooh, you can really show meanness by being nicknamed something dreadful. Love it!

      • Macadamia?? Haha! I love it!

        And yes. One of the main antagonists in my MG fantasy book is so snooty and rude. She’s not the villain, but sometimes I feel like she is, and I just want to give her a good swift kick in the pants!

      • Isn’t it a great nickname? Oh, you just want to hate your antagonists, right? You pick someone in life that you really don’t like and you give all of those characteristics to them, then you can just oooooh, hate them so. Lol. I know what you mean. I think this is why there is a statement about not pissing off a writer. You just might regret it. 😛

Leave a Reply

