Caffeine Bandwagon

Image

This is it. The end of an era.

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but… it looks like caffeine and I may become friends in the near future.

*Cringe!*

First off, let me say that I hate coffee. Ew. You heard me right.

And I’m not a big fan of tea, either, but I can suck it down when I need to.

If those caffeine patches were real, you can bet I’d be jumping all over them.

Yesterday I had an amazingly productive day of writing and plotting and cackling evilly over the misfortunes and coming trials of my characters. And I did it with caffeine. With soda. Which I’m not supposed to have because of my acid reflux, but, meh! I was about to fall asleep at my desk chair, but I hate taking naps. I know. Something else weird about me.

I wanted to be productive, so I bit the bullet and drank some soda. Which I rarely do.

But, wow! What a difference! Once I had a glass in me, it was like a switch turned on inside and my fingers just flew along the keyboard without stopping for breath. It was fabulous.

However, I don’t want to become too addicted. So I’ll reserve my need for caffeine to days when I want to get some writing done. During the week when I don’t have as much time and can only squeak out a paragraph or two after a long day of work, I’m not going to bother with the caffeine. I haven’t needed it up ’til now for work, and I don’t want to rely on it.

But, seriously. I was amazed. I know the physiological effects of caffeine, but haven’t had to use it for pretty much my whole life. I guess now that I’m only a year away from turning 30, my body is demanding more than my perky attitude to get me through times when I’d rather curl up and sleep in the middle of the day.

So, I’ve hopped onto the caffeine bandwagon. Partially, anyways. I’m more like flailing behind as I grasp tentatively to the spokes of the wheels. Maybe someday I’ll right myself.

 

OH! And another thing…

A friend of mine and I from grad school just planned a mini-vacay for the October, and guess where we’re going????

Image

 

YES! THAT’S RIGHT!!!

WOO-HOO!!!! I’ve been looking forward to going there for some time, but I’ve never been able to afford it. My friend lives in Tampa, so I’ll be flying in to stay with her, then we’ll go one day to the park.

Image

And I CANNOT begin to explain my excitement! SQUEEEEE!!!!!! Especially now that I’ve come off a particularly long time of shying away from the Harry Potter books/movies because I was intimidated by J.K. Rowling (no longer, by the way), I’m beyond thrilled that I get to experience this!

Image

Can you tell how excited I am? That’s FOUR pictures in ONE post! I never do that!

So, dear friends. Two big announcements in one day. Big for me, anyways.

Back to my writing: may it be productive and stimulating. (Heh. Get the joke?) πŸ™‚

Happy writing!

 

β€œWe’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.” 
― J.K. Rowling,Β Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

β€œWhether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” 
― J.K. Rowling

46 thoughts on “Caffeine Bandwagon

  1. I’m super jealous! As soon as we get back on the mainland I told my husband we are going to Disney and HP World, put up lots of fun pictures! I have an English friend who went to the one in England and she said it was fantastic so I’m sure it will be great. And as to caffeine, I am a firm believer. Though I tend to be more productive with my writing when I have had some wine, but that’s not an appropriate beverage for the majority of writing hours. . .

  2. Congrats on your trip. I hope you have a great time.

    Speaking of the miracle of caffeine, I want to share something I learned on another blog today (She was drinking tea but I think we can substitute caffeine): “For heaven’s sake, it’s a cup of tea not a miracle.” So my coffee addiction is for naught πŸ˜‰

    • Haha! Oh… I’m sure it’s not for naught. I’m not saying caffeine is a miracle, but it sure does help to get you through the difficult times when sleep sounds all too appealing.

      And I think more people have a coffee addiction than not. I seem to be one in a minority that hates it.

      Therefore… NO SHAME! πŸ™‚

      • There’s caffeine in Excedrin or the generic equivalent. Every time my sister tries to give up soda, she has to take those for a few days so that she’s not giving up the caffeine cold turkey.

      • The thing is, I hate taking pills. I’m such a wimp with them. And I only started using caffeine, so I’m not yet addicted. (And hope never to be). Hmm… I REALLY wish those caffeine patches existed.

      • LOL! I’m sure it won’t be long before they do! If you can stomach it, try drinking half a tiny bathroom cup of water with a teaspoon of baking soda after you drink a soda and while it doesn’t taste good, it kills the heartburn *immediately*. I’ve had ulcers for years and found that this works much faster than any medicine.

Leave a Reply

