Sick Day

Sick Smiley

I’ve been hit! I’m down for the count!

Okay, not really. But I am sick today. Enough so that I stayed home from work. Which I absolutely HATE to do!

The last time I called in was in early February and it was because I had the gall to hurt my back by doing something as daring as roll over in bed. How dare I! One loud pop and I couldn’t move. Why am I such a thrill seeker?

Whatever combination of food I ate yesterday did not agree with each other, which is weird because none of it was new. It actually pretty boring for me, a foodie.

Urgh… I shouldn’t have said the word ‘food.’

I hope this goes away soon so I can go to work tomorrow. I feel terribly guilty that my co-workers had to cover my patients for me. Oh well. I really don’t think they would have liked me very much if I’d showed up the way I’m feeling.

Which has left me with a day of feeling like crap laying around in bed. I did some reading, and that’s probably how I’ll spend the rest of the day, as well. I just can’t get into writing mode when I’m sick.

Emotional? Sure? Angry, rage-filled, sad, depressed? Sure, I can write through all that. But this blog post is about zapping my writing energy.

What about you? Are you able to write while sick? Was it good or bad and did you end up keeping it? And how do you like to spend your sick days?

Happy Writing (reading for me today).

 

“The most poetical thing in the world is not being sick.”
― G.K. ChestertonThe Man Who Was Thursday

15 thoughts on “Sick Day

  1. I’m not able to do anything while I’m sick. I went to the doc today for a follow-up with my asthma and I sounded like a washing machine. My wheezing was bad. But, I did read some of this book that I want to finish. It’s a writing book so it’s kind of dryish. I pulled up some articles that I have to read for class. That’s all I did was pull them up, lol. Class doesn’t start til September, but I will tell you, I’m nervous and ready to go at the same time. LOL

  2. Oh! Feel better soon. I’d suggest some sort of herbal tea, but I hate when people suggest that to me. (personally when I feel lousy like that I like Pepsi or 7up) I am terrible about writing when I’m sick. Only once this year was I able to come up with something in regards to having a nasty cold/flu in March. But most of the time I scrap it, put my blog on hiatus and call it a day saying I’ll be back when I’m up to snuff. Hang in there.

  3. So your sick day is my regular weekday. Maybe a little reading. No writing. Lying in bed. Sounds okay to me. 😉

    I just made you some soup and grabbed a bottle of orange juice. Now if I could just get it to you. Hmm.

    Whoops. I suddenly got hungry and ate it. Oh well. 🙂

    Feel better!

Leave a Reply

