If You Could Change One Thing…

We’ve all been asked that question before. “If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?”

Pfft. So corny and so predictable. I was once asked that in the one and only pageant I’ve ever been in. (And believe me, one was plenty – it’s insanity. But I won’t get into that).

Nevertheless, I do tend to think about this idea quite a bit. If I could change one thing about myself, would I really have the gumption to do it? If a magic genie granted me three wishes, would I take them and change everything?

I don’t know if I can rightly answer that question. There are physical attributes I’d change, but what I have makes me who I am, so I don’t know if I’d want to.

The trait I think I’d most like to change is to be more spontaneous. Ergh! I almost broke out into a rash confessing that.

Spontaneity gives me panic attacks. Obviously it says something about my lack of trust and my control issues, but I’m a planner. I can’t help it. But I think that sets me up for missing out on a lot in life. I never (or VERY rarely) take up someone’s offer to do something spur of the moment. The most spontaneous I get is planning something for the evening earlier that same day. And even that makes me uncomfortable.

That being said, while I was thinking this over, I wondered if there was anything I’d like to change about the characters in my books, especially now that their personalities and traits are fairly fixed in my mind?

If you’ve been with me since the beginning, you’ll know that my villain is based physically on Benedict Cumberbatch. But look what he did to me!

Ginger Benedict

 

Why did he have to make this so hard? I thought I had a clear image in my mind of my villain, but here he had to go and make it difficult. Hmph.

But besides the physical characteristics, I wondered if there were anything I’d like to change about my character’s personalities.

And the answer is yes! And you know what? I can do it! That’s what makes writing so amazing! Changing things up in mid-stride makes for plot twists and turns and keeps readers on the edge of their seats.

Now, I’m not going to change them so much that they’re lost as a character. Too much change makes them unrecognizable (unless that was your point in the first place). But I think I’ll be throwing in a few character changes throughout my MG fantasy series, not only for the readers’ attention, but to keep things interesting for me, as well.

So tell me… Is there anything you’d change about your characters? About yourself? What frightens you the most about changing a character mid-book? Would you ever do it?

Happy writing!

 

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”
― J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“If you treat an individual as he is, he will remain how he is. But if you treat him as if he were what he ought to be and could be, he will become what he ought to be and could be.”
― Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

 

34 thoughts on “If You Could Change One Thing…

    • I was in a sorority and very involved on campus. Being in a sorority was a lot of hard work. I never went to a party and focused instead on the reason sororities were founded in the first place: scholarship, leadership, and service. It definitely helped me become a stronger person, but it was a challenge. Sometimes I wish I could go back and do less activities. I think I was so involved just to pad my resume, and that shouldn’t have been my driving force.

  1. Not one of my charcters ( because I’m so fabulous and they are all great haha) but i was reading a YA novel the other day and there is the typical love triangle,except the guy she is ending up with is so insipid it drove me mad * pulling hair right now*

    • Oh no! I read a book like that just yesterday, but it was the girl that drove me nuts. I literally said out loud (and I live alone), “I can’t finish this right now. This is ridiculous.” Don’t you hate it when crap like that happens???

      • I wonder often how they get published. I was reading ‘Vitro’ by Jessica Khoury, it was so bad I couldn’t believe it. I think it was riding on the coat tails of the success of her first book ‘Origin’. There were so many print errors that I don’t think a red pen went anywhere near it.

      • Sigh. That’s such a shame. I think the sophomore book is probably the biggest test of an author’s talent. I’m currently writing mine (while waiting for my first to be picked up by an agent/publisher). I haven’t yet read ‘Origin,’ but now I don’t want to if I can’t continue appreciating her work.

Leave a Reply

