Sanity and Potty Breaks

Break Time

I’m clearly off my rocker. No surprise there, really.

I can’t wait for the next six weeks to be over. Because I stupidly agreed to work 6 days a week (8-11 hours a day) to help pad my puny bank account. Which means I’ll probably be on WP a little less in the coming weeks. But even more depressing, I won’t have as much time or energy to write.

*Pouty face*

So, I think a lot of my mourning for lack of writing time came out this weekend as I was uber productive with the second book in my MG fantasy series.

What was really interesting, though, is the way my body reacted during my writing extravaganza on Saturday.

I wrote from about 8:30 in the morning to 11:30 at night. Every two hours, almost to the minute, my body required a break. It was freaky! I didn’t even set an alarm or look at the clock. I just kept working until I either needed to go to the bathroom, take a sanity break, or eat.

Weird. And it was like that – all – day!

I’m grateful for the amount I was able to write considering I won’t get half that much done in the next six weeks (unless I don’t sleep).

I kept updating the sidebar with my progress and now I’m over 25% done with the manuscript! Squee!!

I’m about 130 pages into what I anticipate will be around a 400 page first draft. It’s intimidating that I still have a ways to go, but the stuff that has been coming out of my brain and fingers is so much more/better than I ever expected.

Of course, I couldn’t make my second book a straight forwardish plot. The twists and turns have even my going cross-eyed, and it’s difficult to keep it from just one POV. I don’t want to keep shifting it around, but it’d make it easier for me to write. Which means it would probably be more difficult for readers to read.

Le sigh.

I’ll just keep plugging along with my two hour sanity and potty breaks. And hope for the best.

Do you have any weird things that happen when you write? Circadian rhythm changes? Bodies that become angry at you after a certain amount of time sitting and writing? Or am I alone in this weirdness?

Happy writing!

 

“Rest and be thankful.”
― William Wordsworth

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of the water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time.”
― John LubbockThe Use Of Life

 

11 thoughts on “Sanity and Potty Breaks

    • I’d like to do two POVs, and I know I shouldn’t underestimate a child’s intelligence, but I’m worried that it’ll be too confusing going back and forth for a few chapters.

  1. Isn’t it great when that writing just bursts? I hadn’t been able to write much for about a week because I was traveling, then on Saturday I sat down and just disappeared into my book 3. And it was good stuff. I only emerged when my husband poked me to tell me I needed to respond to his question.

    Good luck surviving your crazy 6-day work week!

Leave a Reply

