Revised… Again!

Child Fatigue

Hello, all!

Whew! Sorry, again, for being gone so long from the blogosphere. This week is the last for a while that includes 60-70+ working hours, so I’m hoping to resume regular posts next week.

Miraculously, amidst all the insanity of work, I was able to get a substantial rewrite done Friday through Sunday. I do not have any time any other days of the week, so I crammed about two weeks worth of rewrites into three days.

I thought I had finished my first book, but every few weeks I get a good idea for a revision or a rewrite.

The latest one came about a week ago, and it nagged me all week until I sat down to write.

Within the span of three days, I completely rewrote, from scratch, the first 40 pages (about 12,000 words) of my first book. It was exhilarating, but exhausting, and I was even more tired when I woke up and had to go to work today.

Since I don’t yet have an agent or publishing deal, I can revise all I want, but I was hoping not to do any more major rewrites/revisions until I got an editor.

However, every time I take a step back from it for a few weeks/month, I come back at it with fresh eyes for all the mistakes, inconsistencies, or lack of word-magic.

Does that happen with the rest of you? I spent almost ten years finishing the first book while planning the seven book series it’s a part of, but I still find things I want to change. No matter how much I love my book, I know I’ll never be 100% happy with it. But every rewrite gets me closer to what I’ve imagined for the series.

I’m so glad I took time away from the book. (This is probably the fourth or fifth revision/rewrite). I can’t afford to hire an editor, so all of my revisions are based on feedback from my beta readers. (Who are not always the most helpful).

I’m happy to say that book two in the series is coming along nicely, with much more word-magic than book one (another reason I’m rewriting portions of it).

While I continue to revise my manuscript, I’m curious what the rest of you are working on since I’ve been hit-or-miss for the last few weeks with my blogging and such.

I can’t wait to hear what you’re up to! So spill!

Happy writing!

 

“The more you leave out, the more you highlight what you leave in.”
― Henry Green

“I’ve found the best way to revise your own work is to pretend that somebody else wrote it and then to rip the living shit out of it.”
― Don Roff

9 thoughts on “Revised… Again!

    • Thanks! Yeah, it was a bit of a writing marathon, but I hadn’t had time in the month or more previous to get a bit of writing done, so I was making up for lost time.
      Glad you got your issue fixed!

  1. Sometimes taking a break and coming back to it later is the best thing you can do. I’ve heard from others that have even been traditionally published that it NEVER is actually “done”…there’s always something the author would like to change later. That made me feel a little better about my own changes. 🙂 Great job! 😀

  2. I think that’s why editing takes so long, and why you need so many drafts to tune it all up. But it’s worth it in the end. But, yes I always keep finding new bits to change even when I think I’ve ‘finished’; and in the world of self-published e-books you can of course keep changing things even after it’s published, which seems a mixed blessing.

Leave a Reply

