Top Ten Tuesday: Characters on a Deserted Island

Top Ten Tuesday

It’s that day again! Top Ten Tuesday, presented by the fabulous people at The Broke and the Bookish blog

This week’s sweet topic is the top ten characters I’d want with me on a deserted island. This will be so hard to narrow it down to just ten! Urgh! But here it goes!

 

1. Legolas Greenleaf from Lord of the Rings – Not only is he one of my favorite LOTR characters, but he’s deadly with a bow and arrow, and he can sense things that mortals cannot. Plus, he’s pretty easy on the eyes, too. 😉

2. Hermione Granger from Harry Potter – No offense to Harry, but Hermione is the much more talented witch/wizard. Harry has the heart, but Hermione has the brains. If I’m stuck on a deserted island, brains is more important, and that’s a fact. (And come on, couldn’t she just make a portkey or something and zap us all back home if we needed it?)

3. John Watson from The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sherlock is awesome, but John is loyal, funny, and strong. All good traits when stuck somewhere you shouldn’t be. He was also a soldier, which means he knows a lot of survival tricks. (Think the original Sherlock Holmes from the 1800s). He’d be invaluable on a deserted island.

4. Mr. and Mrs. Beaver from The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe – Okay, seriously, how useful would they be? First of all, they can talk, so they’d be good company. And they’d be able to talk to any other animals on the island. AND, they can build dams and/or other log structures for shelter! An obvious choice to me.

5. Gimli from Lord of the Rings – An axe-wielding dwarf with a sense of humor? Not someone I’d cross on a bad day, but definitely someone to lighten the mood when it’s called for. 

6. Hope Ladley from Forevermore – It’s a Christian RomCom, so I don’t know how many of you have read the book, but Hope is a chipper, down-home, illiterate, itinerant cook with a donkey named Hattie who wears a large hat. It’s hilarious! Hope can cook ANYTHING so it’d be nice to have someone with a wide knowledge of cooking techniques and what tastes good. I’m talking good old-fashioned southern food, too. Mmm!!! Plus, she’s hilarious and always mangles idioms, but they still make sense when she says them. A great character, and a great person to have in a pinch.

7. Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables – Not only is she my favorite literary heroine of all time, but she and I have a lot in common. I think we’d be great friends, and it’d be nice to have someone to talk to when on a desert island. We’d both get into so much accidental trouble, nobody would believe what we’d done!

8. John Jarndyce from Bleak House – Honestly, just an all-around nice guy who would do anything for anybody to keep them happy. Even at his own expense and happiness. I adore this character, and I’d like to have him around just to talk to him about everything that happened to him.

9. The Dinosaur from Danny and the Dinosaur – This was one of my all time favorite children’s books growing up, and having a nice dinosaur on an island full of who knows what could be very helpful. Plus, he could reach really tall trees or hills if we were too short to get something that was just out of reach. Yep. A dinosaur would be super useful.

10. Anne Elliot from Persuasion – Anne is quiet, but she’s practical and gets crap done! Plus, she’s loyal and friendly and puts the needs of others above her own. She’d probably be one of the first people to think of how to make a shelter or signal for help. 

 

There they are! My top ten characters to be stuck with on a deserted island. There are a ton more that I think would be great, but these stick out above the rest. 

Who would you like to have with you? 

Happy writing!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters on a Deserted Island

  1. You know, I came to this post because I knew the topic for today and I just knew you had to include Katniss. But you didn’t. Now I no like you. How could you NOT include her??? 😦

    • I seriously considered adding her to the list. Honestly. I waffled back and forth the whole time I was writing it, but no matter how much I love the character and her arc, Katniss is a bit of a Debbie Downer, and who needs that on a deserted island? If I’d chosen anyone from THG, it would have been Peeta.

Leave a Reply

