Top Ten Tuesday – Authors Who Fill My Bookcase

It’s Tuesday! 

Top Ten Tuesday

As has become a weekly post for me, I’m participating in Top Ten Tuesday put on by the lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish blog

This week’s topic: Authors whose books I own the most of. (Weird sentence, no?)

Here we go!

 

1. L.M. Montgomery ~ 15 books. She wrote a lot more than just the Anne of Green Gables books, but that’s what she’s most remembered for writing. If you recall from this post, Anne is my all-time favorite literary heroine, and L.M. Montgomery (with J.R.R. Tolkien) are the authors who have most influenced my own writing. Love her!

2. J.R.R. Tolkien ~ 10 books. Since he’s one of my favorite authors, it makes sense I’d own a good portion of his books. Besides LOTR and the Hobbit, he’s written and published much  more about the history of Middle Earth, as well as other scholarly books. He’s a fabulous, classical writer and I love him. 🙂

3. Cathy Marie Hake ~ 10 books. She writes historical Christian RomComs, and her books always make me laugh. I read a lot of them in my teen years, but I still love them now.

4. J.K. Rowling ~ 9 books. I own the HP series in paperback, as well as Quidditch Through the Ages, and Fantastical Beasts and Where to Find Them. An amazing imaginative genius, and her writing is so down-to-earth.

5. Jane Austen ~ 8 books. I own all of her novels, as well as some of her children’s stories, poetry, and short stories. I know many contemporary authors hate her, but she’s still one of my faves!

6. William Shakespeare ~ 20 works. I’ve read a great many plays by Shakespeare, keep a smallish book of his sonnets (that has a ton of post-it notes all over inside), and can quote a bit of Macbeth from memory. He was and is one of the best writers of all time, and he revolutionized speech, I think. So many phrases we use today were originated in his works. He’s a hero of mine, for sure.

7. Bibles ~ 15. I own a great many bibles in different translations, as well as from different time periods. I have a New Testament that’s 150 years old and in decent condition. I mentioned in this post about my devotion to my faith, so bibles and Christian books are very important. I have around 50 non-fiction Christian/Catholic books (yes, I’ve read them all). I adore history, so having old books with me is like surrounding myself with the past. And I love it.

8. Grace Livingston Hill ~ 30 books. I don’t know how many people have ever encountered Grace Livingston Hill, but she was a prolific author in the early 1900s. One of my top ten favorite books of all time, Marcia Schuyler, was written by her. Some of her books are very short, and others are longer than Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (the fifth HP book, and the longest). Another one of my author heroes.

9. C.S. Lewis ~ 15 books. Besides his seven part Narnia series, I also own the Space Trilogy, The Screwtape Letters, and many, many of his writings as a Christian lay theologian. I hear there’s a movie coming out about the friendship between him and J.R.R. Tolkien. I can’t wait to see it!

10. Mary Connealy ~ 20 books. Another Christian historical RomCom writer. (Can you tell I like historical/fantastical books, yet?) She’s hilarious! I don’t like reading depressing fiction that much (although who couldn’t use a good cry every now and then, right?), so I usually tend towards the funnier or more fantastical writers. Especially in this genre.

 

Well, there you have it! The top ten people who fill my bookcase! I know you don’t see tons and tons of MG fiction here (since that’s what I primarily write), but I do own a substantial amount of that. It’s just not enough by one author in particular to include it on my list.

What authors do you keep most on your bookshelves?

Happy writing! (And reading!)

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Authors Who Fill My Bookcase

      • Yeah. I’ve never read that thing. And I certainly don’t own one. Haha but I do actually have a Book of Mormon. It was a gift. Never read it. Lol

      • Really??? Haha! I went to a Catholic high school and they had a Mormon come in and talk to us as part of our world religions class. At first it started out instructional, but then they tried to convert us by telling us we’re all going to hell. Ha! Not the best way to win people over. 🙂

      • Oh goodness. It was given to me by a friend. She’s actually on a mission right now. She’s been gone since like February of last year and I think August is her last month. There’s nothing to be learned from any religious crap.

  1. When I was younger I had a three book rule. I would only read three books by the one author. That was until Harry Potter reared his spiky head. Then Jurassic park set of a Michael Chrichton craze. Now I consume all I can find of any author I love.

    • A three book rule? I need to adopt that right now. It would certainly get me to try new and different genres and/or authors. I consume, as well, and then re-consume when the mood hits.

  2. searchforthelostpargraph says:

    I find it incredibly interesting to see just how much Ayn Rand “borrowed” (stole, plagiarized, outright copied) from Hill. The only thing that has kept Rand’s secret safe all these years is the fact that people who are into Objectivism are bloody unlikely to read ancient Christian romance novels, and vice versa.

    • I honestly haven’t read any Rand. I should probably be ashamed by that fact, but I’m not. Now I feel the need to read her just to see how much she stole from my beloved Hill.
      And I agree about how she keeps it a secret. I wish more people read old Christian romance books. I’ve been trying to convert people for years. 🙂 Hill had such an amazing talent with words and plot that I’m always enamored of her style and imagination. Thank you for opening my eyes to this issue.

Leave a Reply

