Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

Tuesday!! I love Top Ten Tuesday by the lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read. Maybe it’s a book you’ve heard about, one you’ve bought but haven’t yet read, or a book that’s hyped up and you’re not sure you’ll actually like. To Read or Not to Read? Here’s my list:

I’m not sure I want to read:

1. Other books by J.K. Rowling. I’ve heard both good and bad things about her non-HP books. While I love the HP books, her other books just don’t appeal to me, despite the fact they have her name attached to it. I’ll probably pass on them.

2. The Divergent series by Veronica Roth. Normally this would be a series that would appeal to me, but a friend of mine gave away the ending, so I’m not particularly attached to the idea of reading it. I also don’t particularly want to see the movies, either. 

3. Anything by Stephenie Meyer. I read the first Twilight book and hated it. HATED. IT. My friends tried to get me to read the others, but it didn’t work. I don’t like her style of writing or the messages she sends young girls. I give her credit for the ideas and creativity and the sheer amount of time it takes to write, as it does for all writers, but I certainly don’t hold her in any kind of esteem as a writer. 

4. The Game of Thrones books by George R.R. Martin. This seems an unlikely choice given the fact that I adore J.R.R. Tolkien. People have said that Martin is the American Tolkien with the scope of his saga and the style of his writing. While no one can take the place of Tolkien in my mind, this choice has nothing to do with comparing the two of them. I picked up the first book in the series, began reading it, and didn’t like the style and what was happening between the characters, especially the dialogue. I have not seen the TV show and I don’t intend to. 

5. Most (Auto)Biographies. I do love history, but auto- or regular biographies are just not my style. I’ve read a couple from differing points of view on the same time period, and they’re obviously very subjective. I don’t really consider any book to be 100% objective… there are always reasons for different interpretations, even if the outcome is the same. Biographies just aren’t my style. 

6. Fifty Shades of Grey. This is something I KNOW I’ll NEVER read. I don’t THINK I’ll never read it, I KNOW I won’t. People have told me the “love story” is sweet and it has a good plot, but that does not sway me. Even with a “good plot,” it’s still just a book of sex in my opinion. Unfortunately, the “sex sells” mantra is true, but I prefer to read stories that don’t rely on that premise to be successful. Sorry, E L James. I’ll never be a fan.

7. The Book Thief. I began reading it, and despite the rave reviews, I didn’t like the style of the writing. I know many people appreciate it, but the writing was choppy and inconsistent in its syntax and structure. For me, that’s a big turn-off and hard to get past. I love the premise and the voice of the narrator, but structure and style are very important for me to be able to finish a book. 

8. P.S. I Love You. This is an instance where I saw the movie before reading the book and I loved it. Usually the book is better than the movie, but I’m worried that it won’t be. Go ahead and say it… I’m a fraidy cat.

9. Eragon series. I began the first book, and I think I might have finished most of it, but only because I was forcing myself to like it. Despite the good plot, I wasn’t a fan of his style. I may return to it eventually and finish the series, but probably not any time soon.

10. Any books that turn Jane Austen’s books into vampires, mummies, zombies, etc. I love Austen, and I’m a bit of an Austen purist. I understand why people would like these books, but I just don’t think I’d read one. 

 

There they are! My top ten books I’m not sure if I’ll ever read. To read or not to read? That is the question. What are your picks?

Happy writing!

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

  1. Oh this list is too funny! Not because of ha ha, but because I totally agree with you on half of it. No desire to read any JK books either. WILL NOT read vampire-y Jane Austen, started reading Eragon with my sister but just could not finish it myself while she loved it, interested in the Game of Thrones books, but not enough to try them partly due to what I’ve heard of gore, loved P.S. I Love You film won’t read the book, I about shot myself reading the first two pages of The Book Thief….and I don’t read autobiographies. Bios yes, occasionally, like one ever five years or longer.
    I am going to audio book the Fifty Shades because no one will no what I’m listening to…. but if you don’t like Twilight, then you won’t like that because the whole plot is based off a twisted form of Twilight…. lol.
    I don’t know the ending of Divergent and I’m curious, but I kind of want to see the film first.
    (I wonder if it will be like the Cassandra Clare books)

    So, great list!

    • Thanks! I knew you’d be an Austen purist like me. 🙂 I really wish some of these books were written in just a little different style, because I think I’d love them! But everyone has different tastes and voices, so I can’t judge. I just won’t be able to read them. Le sigh.

      • I totally know your feeling on how I wish certain books were another style. I feel like I should have loved the Redwall series because it was animals and such, but I can’t read them. And ironically, every book I can’t enjoy, my sister loves, and every book I like she isn’t interested in. I can’t stand Nancy Drew, other than one or two books, but my sister (she has Downs Syndrome so is 33 with a 12 year old brain) loves Nancy Drew. I totally agree with your Le sigh.

  2. I totally agree with the J.K. Rowling thing; I don’t like the genre of mystery much, so I am not drawn to them. Divergent: I read and adored and hated because of the ending, thus I will never re-read. Fifty Shades of Grey = Gross. I even hate typing the title for fear of any association with it! P.S. I Love You is one of the greatest movies ever; I did not even know it was a book. Lovely post 🙂

    • Thank you! I love P.S. I Love You. It’s my go-to movie for when I need a good cry. Never fails, even though I’ve seen it a ton of times.
      I really don’t think I’ll be able to read Divergent ever after what my friend told me. It’s a bit much, I think.

      • You are not missing out on Divergent because it is just emotionally traumatizing. In a bad way haha. I love that P.S. I Love You is guaranteed to cleanse the tear ducts, no matter how many times we watch it! 🙂

  3. When I started reading The Book Thief, I figured I would get used to the style after I had read for a while. Well now I’ve read the whole thing and I’m still not used to it! It was a great book, but the writing style was a little disconcerting.

  4. I completely agree with your list. I will add one more though: the mortal instruments. I tried reading the first book, I mean, really tried. It was the sort of thing I should love, but I didn’t. I got halfway through before I dropped it. It kind of reminded me of Tim Burton movies – I should love them, but they’re somehow so bland and boring when they’re trying to be weird. I can’t quite explain it, but these stories just haven’t connected with me.

    • I don’t even know what The Mortal Instruments is about, thought I’ve heard of it. That was probably the only reason I didn’t include it.
      I’m also not a fan of Tim Burton movies. They’re dark and weird just for the sake of being dark and weird, not necessarily to prove any kind of genius. At least, that’s my opinion.

      • I completely agree, and it’s a shame to see the same thing happening in books. Style without substance, I guess. I don’t know how he keeps getting his movies greenlit. Surely someone else could use the money.

  5. I’m with you on pretty much all of those. I will admit that I did read Twilight. I think really only to see what happened. Then I went back and looked at the first one again and realized just how terrible it was. I will say I read The Host and it was much better. GoT I tried to read but got bored. Plus I’ve seen so much of the TV show and just been confused by all the story lines, so it just sounds like a lot of work. 50 shades of grey…never. I also didn’t enjoy the Book Thief. I’d add Eat, Love, Pray and also The Night Circus. Tried both of them for a book club and hated them.

    • Wow. We seem to be on the same page. I tried reading Eat, Pray, Love, as well, and couldn’t get into it, though the movie was interesting. Which astonishes me. I rarely find a movie that is better than the book.

      • Maybe because it was visually pretty? I just found the main character and, in fact, the whole premise of the book, to be a bit elitist and selfish, but that could just be me up on my high horse lol.

      • I think you’re right about the visuals. And I honestly don’t think there’s anything wrong with people getting up on high horses occasionally. It shows we’re passionate and have strong opinions. I know I do it, too. If we all felt the same about everything, it’d be a pretty boring life, indeed. High horse it up, lady!

  6. This would possibly cause a lot of controversy between you and game of thrones fans (like myself). I will admit, getting into the books initially was a struggle but now I cannot put it down! I just want to keep reading to find out what happens. I’m not a massive fan of ogre and decapitation but there is always something going on which keeps it interesting. Give it another go!!!

    • Haha! I knew I’d probably have a few controversies with this list. I still may try to read Game of Thrones, but my to-be-read list is already mountainous, so it’ll probably be a while before I can get to it.
      So you’re saying it gets better later on? I was turned off by the first three pages and put it down. Though I know so many people who like it, and I do love epic fantasises/historicals, etc. So it should be right up my alley.

      • I think you will love it! I know some people who struggle to sit down and read who are totally into it! I was halfway through the first book before I truly started enjoying it. Because it’s a big series the introduction to the characters takes a fair chunk of it.

Leave a Reply

