Top Ten Tuesday – Characters At My Lunch Table

Top Ten Tuesday

Hello!!! I hope everyone (in America) had a nice Labor Day, and that everyone else had a productive and easy Monday yesterday. πŸ™‚

I’m back on my Top Ten Tuesday roll with this week’s edition: Top ten book characters that would be sitting at my lunch table. A great big THANKS to The Broke and the BookishΒ blog that comes up with these topics.

Before I get to the list, I have to preface it with a little more info about myself and who I was in school.

I. AM. A. NERD.

No way around it, and I’m not ashamed, so many of my favorite characters in books would never have sat at my lunch table – they’re just too cool or outgoing for my tastes (another reason I like secondary characters so much). So, I’m going to go with characters who are a bit awkward, nerdy, teased, and unpopular, because that’s mostly how I was in school.Β 

Okay… to the list!

Β 

1. Hermione Granger – Yep. She’s basically me except much more gutsy, but she and I share a love of learning, knowledge, and looking out for other people who don’t know how to look out for themselves. I think she and I would get along very well, unless we got into a serious debate over classes.Β 

2. Anne Shirley – It was a toss-up between her and Hermione over who would be first and honestly, they’re both about the same in my book for top spot. Anne is also a bit nerdy, though a starry-eyed romantic and book lover. Again, I think we’d get along famously because of how odd she is (to her classmates and the town she lives in), and would be able to commiserate.

3. Matilda – from Roald Dahl’s “Matilda.” She’s quiet, puts up with a difficult family (mine is awesome!), loves to read, and loves her teacher. I was always a teacher’s pet. Not because I sucked up, but because I did all my work and was a good student. Her love of reading alone would be enough to have her at my table. Between the two of us, we’d have stacks of books weighing the table down.

4. John Watson – from The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. John is a doctor (I’m a physical therapist), and cares a lot about people, which is a great antithesis to Sherlock’s sociopathic limitations. John is the calm to Sherlock’s storm, which I’m told is a trait I have. Fairly steady and low-key. I get all my aggression and energy out when I exercise and in my writing. I’d love to sit down and talk with John.

5. Jo March – from Little Women. Although she’s much more outgoing than I am, she is a writer and is passionate for her craft. Our personalities may be different, but our passions are very similar.

6. Suzy – from Calvin and Hobbes. Suzy cracks me up! She’s just as smart as Calvin (sometimes more so), and is able to take him down a peg when he gets overbearing. Not only that, but Hobbes likes her! Suzy is a nerdy, lovable little girl. She definitely makes the list.

7. Anne Elliot – from Persuasion. She’s so much like me it’s scary. Introverted, intelligent, slips behind the drama to keep things peaceful, is loyal to a fault. Man, I’m really an awesome person, aren’t I? πŸ™‚ If you’ve read Persuasion, you know Anne has plenty of faults, but she’s my favorite Austen heroine, probably because I see so much of myself in her.

8. Mortimer Lightwood – from Charles Dickens’ “Our Mutual Friend.” This is one of my all time favorite Dickens books, and his characters are awesome. Mortimer is a lawyer and often the conscience of a group of characters. He’s also the storyteller in the book, and he’s truly concerned for the best interests of everyone involved in the story. Though he’d probably be a bit more dapper than me, I’d still like to have him at my lunch table.

9. Gandalf – from Lord of the Rings. He’s so wise! (I’m not saying I am). I could see him at my lunch table with his peculiar brand of humor and all the knowledge he’s gained in the thousands of years he’s lived. I want him there just for my own desire to learn from him (if he were real).Β 

10. The Doctor – If I have to explain who he is, I’m sorry for that. And although he’s not a book character, I’m breaking the rules for him. I’d LOVE LOVE LOVE to sit down and chat with him considering how old he is and how much he’s been through. And despite how popular his show is right now, he’s still basically a nerd. Sometimes in disguise, but I think he’d love to sit at my table of randomness and all the characters that would fit into my group. He’d have a ball and so would I!

Β 

Welp, what do you think? Do you agree/disagree with my choices? Who would you pick to sit at your lunch table?Β 

Happy writing!

Β 

β€œIf you like nerds, raise your hand. If you don’t, raise your standards.” 
― Violet Haberdasher

β€œI think, that if the world were a bit more like ComicCon, it would be a better place.” 
― Matt Smith

β€œNever apologize for being nerdy, because unnerdy people never apologize for being assholes.” (Pardon the language!! It’s his, not mine). πŸ™‚
― John Barrowman FandomFest 2013

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Characters At My Lunch Table

  1. I want to have lunch with Anne Shirley too! She’s so much fun. I just love her to bits. πŸ™‚

    So if you are inviting the Doctor to your lunch table, which version of the Doctor would you invite?

    • That’s a tough question. I love all the versions of the Doctor for different reasons. Eleven cracks me up because he’s a bit of a doof, and so am I. Ten is the dashing doctor (literally and figuratively). Nine was the return of the Doctor and he did such a fabulous (fantastic!) job of bringing him back.
      I’m also a big fan of seven and four. So… I don’t really know who I’d pick. It’d be a tough choice, for sure.
      Which Doctor would you pick?

      • Haha! Oh, okay. πŸ™‚ Well, I’m glad you know who the Doctor is, anyways. Many people don’t. Which is fine, but I love that show, so I’m always a little amazed when people don’t know what I’m talking about.

  2. I’m totally with you on #’s 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, and 10! I adore Hermione Granger, and she’d probably be my favorite. I don’t watch The Doctor much, but I love him! Part of me thinks I’d like to sit down with Charlotte Lucas, and definitely Mr. Knightley. I’ve always been a fan of Anne Shirley. She has such spunk.
    I actually had to read who Mortimer Lightwood was because my first thought was, ‘What Shadowhunter is he?” (clearly I’m too immersed in Cassandra Clare books!) Great list. And I can probably think about a 10 more I’d add to my own list. Maybe I should. πŸ™‚

    • I love all the Doctors. I relate better to Matt Smith’s Doctor (personality-wise), but I think David Tennant and Christopher Eccleston did a great job. Nine gets overlooked so much, which is such a shame. He brought it back, and for that, I’ll be grateful.
      I’ve always been a fan of four and seven, as well. But I like them al, for very different reasons.

  3. Oh my goodness, you are my favorite ever! I love your choices, especially Suzy and John Watson. Suzy is amazing, and John is such a lovable sidekick. And that Doctor is always breaking the rules, so he deserves to be included. I’ll have to think about who I’d want to have sitting at my table . . .

Leave a Reply

