Title Options

Hello, all!

What a C-R-A-Z-Y month this has been! I’ve worked more and been busier this past month than any other month I can remember. Yeesh!

But now I’m on vacation until next week. Actually, I just returned from Florida where I went to Universal Studios and saw the AMAZING Harry Potter parks. Don’t worry, I’ll post pictures and do a separate post about that, but I had no time while there to update you all. Yes, I DID buy a wand, but you’ll have to wait until that post to find out whose it was. I don’t think any of you would expect me to buy the one I did.

Since returning yesterday from Florida, I’ve been trying to get back into my writing. Aside from blogging infrequently, I haven’t been able to write a thing the last two months because of how busy I’ve been. And it has almost brought me to tears. I wake up in the morning so inspired and energized to write, but by the time I get home from work 12 hours later, my brain is mush, and I have not the energy or wherewithal to get any writing done.

I’m hoping this week I’ll be able to get a significant chunk completed on the latest rewrite of my first book. I plan to begin sending it out again to agents at the beginning of the year. And I’ve been thinking about changing the title to the series.

You can see from the sidebar that the current series title is The Phantom Apprentice.

While that has been its title for many years, I’m wondering if something else might be better. I refer you to this post, and this one, to get an idea of what my books are about so you can help me decide if I should change my title.

Which title of the ones listed below is more entrancing, appealing, curious, etc? Could you tell me why?

I appreciate any and all suggestions and votes. It is extremely helpful to have other writers’ opinions on this. Because you’re also readers and know what readers will read. Right? 🙂

Choices for Series Titles:

1. The Phantom Apprentice

2. Secrets of the Setaparts

3. The Last Setapart

4. Tales of the Last Setapart

5. The Phantom League

Choices for Book One Titles:

1. Book of the Scribes

2. The Restoration of Ava Monaghan

Thoughts? I honestly am not a huge fan of any of them, but we’re our own worst critics, so what do I know?

Oh! Just FYI, I will be returning to my series on the Science of Injury over the next few days, after this post and the one about Harry Potter world.

Thanks for all your input! I need the help, clearly!

Happy writing!

“I thought about TimeBlaze. We should…shorten the titles. The titles are getting long. More colons than a proctologist.”
― D.C. PiersonThe Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To

“The intellectual mind judges a book after having read it.
A fool’s mind judges a book by its title.”
― Ellen J. Barrier

18 thoughts on “Title Options

    • Haha! You’re too sweet. I really don’t like any of them, but I don’t know what else to do. I’ll ask my beta readers for help, but I don’t know how constructive that will be. I hate thinking of titles. Names I’m good at. But, titles? Nope.

      • I guess it really depends on what impression you want to get across to your readers. Hmm, I’ll keep thinking about it and get back to you when I can actually decide. I’m extremely indecisive as you can see. Sorry I can’t be much help. Agreed, titles are tough.

      • No worries! I abhor titling things. I really want to keep ‘phantom’ in the title, but nothing I come up with seems right or intriguing to me. Sigh. Oh well. I won’t be sending it out again until at least the new year, so I have time.

  1. Well here comes some honesty. I very much dislike all of them. Especially “The Restoration of Ava Monaghan.” As a reader and someone who reads a good number of books, I’d never take a second look at that. Not as the first in a series. James Patterson is the only author I know who writes titles like that (excluding the series that use character names in every title like HP). Obviously the series isn’t geared toward me, but eh. Just my opinion. And to me, the current working title doesn’t even sound like a book title. I don’t know. Geez. I’m horrible.

    • You’re not horrible. You’re just being honest. And I already told you that I don’t like any of the titles anyway. I’m going to ask my Beta-Readers to help me a bit, since they’ve already read it. I don’t know. I’ve never been the best at titles. Blech.

  2. Whaaaaat? You got to go to Harry Potter world?! Jealous! I can’t wait to see pictures! Especially of your wand!

    As for the titles–I like having “Phantom” in the title. It catches my eye. But “Phantom Apprentice” puts me too much in mind of “The Phantom Menace.” I like “Phantom League” though. And of your two book 1 titles, I’d definitely go for “Book of the Scribes,” but it does sound a little dry. Maybe something about the boot camp she ends up at? Does it have a name or some significant detail? I’m not much help without actually having read it, but those are my thoughts based on your previous posts.

    • Yes! And it was awesome! I can’t wait to go back someday.

      Thanks for the suggestions! I honestly hate thinking of titles. I feel like nothing I come up with is eye-catching or interest-piquing enough to make someone reach out and take it home to read. I’ve definitely been going through a slump in my writing attitude, thinking everything I’ve ever written is absolute trash. I know, deep down, it isn’t, but I just feel like I’ll never be good enough.
      Sigh. I’ll get over it.
      And when I e-mail you, I’ll explain more about my book. You’ll see what I mean soon. 🙂

      • I know what you mean! And titles are murder. I didn’t have one for my book until literally the week I sent it off the first time.

        I emailed you back! :):):)!!

  3. 1. For the series, I like them in this order, most to least: 4, 1, 2, 3, 5.
    2. For the book, I like 2 then 1.
    3. You were in my neighborhood! Universal’s about 30 minutes from me. And you came at a good time of year with this cold front we’ve been having. Mid-to-upper 70s and not melting weather! Plus not much rain. I hope you enjoyed your stay.
    4. Funny, my theme this month was about my experiences with E.S.P., and just today, I was thinking about you and why I haven’t seen you on WP in a while,…and this is the very day you blogged again since your last entry! 😀 How cool! Welcome back! 😀

    • Thanks for the input!
      Haha!! Your version of a “cold front” is hilarious to me since I live in Michigan, but the weather really was perfect for spending a day at the park.
      You have a little ESPN about you, huh?? 😉
      That’s insane. I have sensations like that at times, but it’s pretty rare. I’m glad you were thinking of me. Maybe that’s where the nudge came from to post. So, thanks!

      • LOL! Yes, for here, that was cold. In fact, I even had the heater on for about an hour one day in between the air conditioner which was on the rest of the day before and after! LOL! 🙂

  4. Welcome back! And I can’t wait to see all your Harry potter world photos – so jealous! For titles. I’m a bit more partial to “Secrets of the Setaparts” for the series, I think I like the alliteration. And for the book titles, I would stick with “Book of Scribes,” I’m not a huge fan on the “Restoration.”

    • Thanks for the input! I’m still not a big fan of any of them, and titles are so hard for me. I love naming things and characters and creating new races and locations, but titles? Blech. If you have any other suggestions, I’m more than open to them.

      I’ll be posting my HP stuff shortly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

