Another Draft Down!

Ahhh…

I just finished rewriting and editing yet another draft of my first book. I cannot tell you how amazing that feels. Primarily because it’s the best thing I’ve written up until this point.

Have I neglected my blog and bloggy friends to get it done?

Yes.

Have I done little else but write and edit?

Yes.

Do I regret those actions?

Not a bit.

I have a love-hate relationship with my writing at times, but I’m proud of this draft, and this time I’ll have two different writers/editors give feedback before I resubmit it to agencies and publishers. I’m so excited (and terrified!) to receive their feedback so I can make my book even better!

My latest draft ended up being 126,000 words, which is FAR too long for a middle grade book. I whittled it down to 108,000, which is three thousand words MORE than my last draft! HA! I’d hoped to shorten it with the rewrite, but so much changed I just couldn’t. Once I get feedback, I’m hoping to cut that to less than 100,000, but I have no idea where else to cut.

I’m sure some of the cuts will break my heart, but them’s the breaks when you’re a writer striving for publication.

So, tell me… what have you been working on since I’ve been shamefully absent? I can’t wait to hear about your projects! Hopefully now I can get back to blogging regularly since this monkey is finally off my back.

Now… on to outlining the rest of the series! Woot! And continuing my work on the second book.

Happy writing!

“I do three drafts handwritten and then it’s typed up… They are different from each other, they are hopefully improvements in the sense you’re going back over something. The first time you write it, it’s the first thing that you can think. The second time you’re trying to shape the dialogue, helping the characters. The third time you’re doing it because you want the words to sound nice, hopefully making the prose better, making it more fun to read, making the jokes funnier and the scary bits scarier.”
― Clive Barker

“Your first draft is a petulant teenager, sure it knows best, adamant that its Mother is wrong. Your third draft has emerged from puberty, realising that its Mother was right about everything.”
― Angeline Trevena

“So the writer who breeds more words than he needs, is making a chore for the reader who reads.”
― Dr. Seuss

14 thoughts on “Another Draft Down!

  1. Congratulations! Writing is such an un-quantifiable process and for someone who loves the thrill of crossing something off a list (ME!), it can be discouraging to keep writing and writing and fixing and tweaking and never being DONE. But you did it! You can cross “another draft” off your to do list! And then you can start all over again. 🙂

    I’m working on my second draft of my first book (it’s a little tiny baby compared to yours!) and I’m surprised at how much I love cutting things. I like playing with white space and jumping ahead in time and using what’s not said as much as what is (it works for this story – that approach does not work with all stories!) so cutting sentences and paragraphs is thrilling for me. By the time I’m done I’ll probably just have a short story. Haha.

    Love that Angeline Trevena quote!

  2. Congratulations! What a great feeling. And when you get the feedback, remember this: ‘Kill your darlings, kill your darlings, even when it breaks your egocentric little scribbler’s heart, kill your darlings.’ -Stephen King.

    It will be okay though. Your broken heart will heal.

  3. That’s so awesome! It’s so interesting to watch how our own writing changes and gets better, I’ve noticed it with my writing a lot lately. And that’s great that you already have critique partners, I’m sure they will give you great feedback and you can start working on publication again.

  4. Hooray for a finished draft! That’s seriously the best feeling in the world. Also, where on earth do you find your quotes?! They are the best! I love the one from Angeline Trevena. Fabulous.

    • Should I really give away my quote secret??? Hmm??? I don’t know if you could stand the intensity and secrecy of it.

      Well… I suppose I’ll share.

      I enter a search term associated with my blog topic into the Goodreads quote database.

      Are you amazed at the ingenuity of it all?? Huh? HUH??? 🙂

  5. Well done – and 126k words is pretty impressive, even if it does leave you with an editing headache. Is there any way of splitting it into two (or more) books? For middle grade, 126k could be a short series!

    I’ve been neglecting my blog too, being busy finishing one first draft and one final, nearly ready for publication. Hard work but worth it. Trouble is I’ve got out of the blogging habit and need to get back into it.

    • Thanks! I wish I could split it into multiple books, but that book is the first in a series already at this point. I really just need to focus on slashing unnecessary parts, which is difficult, of course.
      Yeah, getting back into the blogging habit is difficult, and it doesn’t help that I don’t have internet where I’m staying right now, so I only have access at the coffee shop. That slows things down for me a bit.

Leave a Reply

