My Writing Perfume

In the past few months, I’ve spent an inordinate amount of time at a local coffee shop using their WiFi and rewriting my first book. I didn’t notice until a few weeks into that timeframe that I smelled different when I left the coffee shop than when I entered.

A few days ago, I was there for about three hours. Not too long for me, really, but afterwards I had to run a few errands. At one store, as I was walking away from the cashier, I heard him mumble, “Do I smell coffee?”

Haha! It was me!

Although I rarely wear perfume, I’ve somehow gained a new scent. And I’m calling it: Coffee House. I smelled like espresso. Strong espresso. They brewed so much coffee and made so many drinks, it seeped into my clothes.

As most of you know, I’m not the biggest fan of the taste of coffee, but I do love the smell, so I’m proud of my new perfume.

Anybody else? Has this happened inadvertently to any of you? Gained a new perfume/cologne accidentally?

I was amused at his comment and laughing as I left the store, and wondered how many other people noticed my new scent and said nothing.

“I don’t really like coffee, she said, but I don’t really like it when my head hits my desk when I fall asleep either. ”
― Brian Andreas

“Come on, don’t you ever stop and smell the coffee?”
― Justina ChenNorth of Beautiful

7 thoughts on “My Writing Perfume

  1. Ha! That’s awesome. My inadvertent perfumes are more along the lines of peanut butter or Cheerios or diapers. I think that last one could really sell in the perfume world . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

