My Gilbert Is Gone

Anne and Gilbert

I was surprised I didn’t see this more on WP, but maybe I just wasn’t online when this happened.

Jonathan Crombie, probably best known for playing Gilbert Blythe in the “Anne of Green Gables” movies, died on April 15th, at age 48, from a brain hemorrhage. Did anybody else know about this? I only found out a couple days ago, even though this happened last week.

Death happens. I understand that. I write death frequently. I see it all the time in my job. While I’m always affected by death, I do have to have a bit of mental anesthesia to get through seeing and facing death so often.

But this hit me hard. If you remember from this post a year-ish ago, you’ll recall that Gilbert Blythe is my favorite literary hero ever. EVER!

The TV movies came out when I was only a year or two old, but I watched them incessantly in the 90s, and I still watch them. L.M. Montgomery, who wrote the “Anne of Green Gables” books, has been the most influential author of my life. I fell in love with her characters, as well as with the actors who portrayed them on-screen.

Jonathan Crombie will always be Gilbert Blythe to me. I feel terrible for his family and friends. He was so much more than his Gilbert character, and it makes me sad that so few people know of his talent.

RIP Jonathan Crombie.

3 thoughts on “My Gilbert Is Gone

  1. I was surprised by how little attention Jonathan Crombie’s death got, too! So, so sad. I read a small tribute to him from Megan Follows and it almost made me cry. He was such a perfect Gilbert Blythe.

Leave a Reply

