The Dirty Thirty

Has anyone else ever heard that expression before? No? I hadn’t either until someone told me a few days ago since…

I turn 30 today!

Yikes! These first thirty years have just flown by. Sometimes I feel like I haven’t accomplished a thing, and then I think back on the last decade, and I can believe how MUCH has happened!

I’m definitely not where my 20 year-old self thought I would be at 30, but you know what? I think I like this better.

For my 30th birthday, I went to a bunch of appointments at random doctors before I head out west in two weeks. Fun, right? Man, is that not a sign of getting older, or what? πŸ™‚

Tomorrow night I’m having a big dinner with friends and Sunday I’m doing a family thing. I’ve never been much of a partier, and even these two things make me uncomfortable. But I’ll be so happy to see my closest friends and family because I have no idea when I’ll be back in the Mitten to see people.

So, here I am… turning the “dirty 30,” though if you know me at all, you’ll know what a perpetual Goody Twoshoes I am and how dirty thirty will never apply to me. But it rhymes, so I’m using it.

Happy birthday to anyone else out there celebrating. My 20s were amazing, insane, emotional, difficult, mind-blowing, and demanding. I hope my 30s will teach me even more.

I’m so grateful to my family and friends for always supporting me in life, and especially in my creative endeavors. And to all you lovely WP bloggy friends…thanks for rounding me out as a person. You’re just what I needed.

Happy writing!

β€œWith mirth and laughter let old wrinkles come.”
― William Shakespeare

β€œHappy Birthday Seaweed Brain”
― Rick Riordan,Β The Last Olympian

β€œA happy birthday is measured not in the amount of gifts one gets, but in the amount one is loved.”
― Todd Stocker

20 thoughts on “The Dirty Thirty

  1. I knew it! Honestly, I was going to tell you happy birthday even though I wasn’t sure if I had the date right. I have no idea how I remembered this. We talk too much, maybe? Anyway, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! πŸŽ€πŸŽπŸŽ‚πŸŽˆπŸŽ†πŸŽ‡πŸŽ‰πŸŽŠπŸŽYou’re not old or anything. πŸ˜‚

    • No worries! And thank you! It was an awesome birthday, and tomorrow I’m leaving for Washington state on my country tour working as a physical therapist. Yay! I hope to get down in your area eventually. Though I’m not the biggest fan of Florida, I might get down to SC or Georgia.

Leave a Reply

