The Wild Blue Yonder

Tomorrow I embark on an adventure that I’ve been planning for years.

Lake Chelan sunset(Lake Chelan, Washington state)

I feel like Bilbo Baggins at the beginning of the first Hobbit movie, when he’s running through Hobbiton screaming, “I’m going on an adventure!”

Tomorrow, I’ll be up at the armpit of dawn to haul off to the west. I’m leaving from the northern part of Michigan’s lower peninsula to begin the trek out to Washington state, the first state on my list of places I want to see.

Most of you know I’m a physical therapist, and I’m blessed to be able to travel my job, and get paid pretty well doing it. I hope to see a majority of the country in the next few years.

In no particular order, the list of states I want to work in are:

Washington (duh, since I’m headed there, right?)

Texas

Massachusetts

South Carolina

Montana

Idaho

Maine

Arizona

Louisiana

North Carolina

Hawaii

Alaska

From these states, I will be able to see almost all of the country because most places will be within driving distance or a short flight if I want to visit another state I’m not working in. Even Canada or Mexico if I wanted.

And yes, I really could go to Hawaii and Alaska whenever I wanted. Awesome, right? I certainly think so.

If I’m ever in your area, I’m going to invite myself over to visit. You’ll just have to deal with it.

I’m looking forward to driving across this beautiful country of ours (for my American compatriots) almost as much as I’m looking forward to actually getting to my endpoint.

And I’m SO excited to see new natural grandeur. If there’s one thing that inspires my writing more than anything else, it’s being surrounded by nature. And a change of scenery gets me on writing rampages.

While I’m in Washington, I’ll be working and living in Cle Elum, which is just over an hour east of Seattle in the Cascade Mountains. Sounds faboo, right? I also plan on hitting Seattle quite a few times, as well as Puget Sound, the San Juan Islands, Vancouver, Snoqualmie Falls, Mt. Rainier, Oregon, maybe even northern California to see the redwoods.

Any other suggestions from my west coast bloggy buddies?

“Off I go, into the wild blue yonder, off I go, into the sea!” Well… you know what I mean.

Happy writing, friends!

“The world is a book, and those who don’t travel only read one page.”
― Augustine of Hippo

“All travel has its advantages. If the passenger visits better countries, he may learn to improve his own, and if fortune carries him to worse, he may learn to enjoy it.”
― Samuel JohnsonA Journey to the Western Islands of Scotland and The Journal of a Tour to the Hebrides

“Everything I was I carry with me, everything I will be lies waiting on the road ahead.”
― Ma JianRed Dust: A Path Through China

6 thoughts on “The Wild Blue Yonder

    • Oh, I sure will! I’ve been threatened by all my friends and family here to take pictures and selfies in different states and such. I’m not usually one for selfies, but I suppose I should honor my parents’ request, right? 🙂

  1. It’s good you’re headed to WA in the summer, you’ll get to avoid most of the rain! But you’ll still need a sweater for the 4th of July. And I haven’t been to WA since high school, but there was this adorable tea house in downtown historic Tacoma when I was there, so you should look for it if you are around there! And HI is only fun as a tourist so you aren’t missing much, and to echo John, TX is awesome.

Leave a Reply

