NO MORE BOOKS!

I mean it! I have GOT to stop buying books. Especially now that I’m traveling for my job. I’ve acquired so many new books since I began traveling and I’m just not getting through them. Mostly because I’m writing more (which is awesome!), but also because I begin some of them and lose interest so quickly.

You know how the great ‘they’ say to write the book you want to read? I think that’s truly happening for me. I can’t get through a lot of books without wanting to throttle the characters, the author, or my own anal-retentiveness when I read. Being a writer is an amazing thing, but it really has changed the way I read books. That’s both a blessing and a curse.

So, in order to teach myself a lesson, save money, and SAVE SPACE IN MY CAR!!!, I’m not going to buy any more books this summer.

YEESH! That’s so hard for me! I rarely make reading goals because I read so many books a year it seems ridiculous. But this is something I really must do. I don’t have anymore space in my car to haul more books, especially if I don’t end up liking/finishing them. Plus, my TBR list is well over a hundred books. Possibly two hundred, so I really need to scale back and attack that leaning pile of books.

So no more books for me until at least September 1st! I can’t tell you how much money I’ll save. I know I spend a LOT of money every year on books. More than clothes, jewelry, shoes, make-up, and bath stuff combined! That’s a lot!

Hopefully I won’t go through withdrawal too badly. I have PLENTY of books to keep me busy reading the rest of the summer without buying new ones. Here we go!

Oh! By the way, I made it safely to Cle Elum, Washington, where I’ll be until at least the end of August, and possibly until around the holidays. I’ll post pictures of my journeys and such when I can.

Happy writing!

“Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.”
― Lemony SnicketHorseradish

“There are too many books I haven’t read, too many places I haven’t seen, too many memories I haven’t kept long enough.”
― Irwin Shaw

“His hands were weak and shaking from carrying far too many books from the bookshop. It was the best feeling.”
― Joseph Gordon-LevittThe Tiny Book of Tiny Stories, Vol. 1

14 thoughts on “NO MORE BOOKS!

    • I know, but I hate e-readers. I even own a kindle and never use it. It would make my life so much easier (and less cluttered!) if I could hop on the e-reader bandwagon. I don’t know what it is, but I just don’t like them.

  1. I’ve started using the library a lot more to try an control my book-buying habits, but somehow I keep running out of room on my shelves even so. I just can’t help it! I love books!

    • I’m terrible with library books. Because I read a bajillion books at one time, I rarely finish the books in time and end up with late fees. Or, I’ll forget about them because I got distracted by something else. Le sigh. And now that I’m traveling, libraries will be difficult. I don’t want to open an account every place I go.

Leave a Reply

