James Patterson’s Master Class

Has anybody else seen this? I rarely pay attention to Facebook ads, but this one caught my gaze and I had to see what it was about.

In 22 video lessons, James Patterson, currently the bestselling author in the world, teaches writers how to write a best-selling book.

Now I’m not naive and think I’ll write a bestseller after taking this class, because a class can only do so much. But I think it would be fascinating to take a course from one of the most prolific and widely read authors of the past fifty years. Not to mention the fact that I can’t afford to go to writing conferences at this point, so online learning and reading books/magazines/articles/blogs on writing are the current tools in my toolbox for improving my writing.

I’ll be honest, I’ve never read a single James Patterson book. Not one. It’s not that I don’t like him. I either haven’t gotten around to it or the books I’ve seen with his name on it just aren’t in a genre I normally read. But that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t learn a TON from him. He’s obviously a talented writer and fantastic at marketing and selling his books. Who wouldn’t want to learn more about the business and get some tips on writing?

And how much is this class, you ask? Only $90!!! I was stunned! It may seem like a lot of money, but I was expecting a class like this to be at least $250.

I’m going to see if I can work it into my budget. I’ve been a little stale in my writing recently and I think this would give me a great boost, or a swift kick in the pants. Either one works as long as it gets me writing more frequently again.

Please go check out the site and see for yourself! Apparently all kinds of talented, well known artists teach “master classes” on this website. I’m so glad I found it.

What do you think? Would you ever take a class like this?

Happy writing!

P.S. No, nobody is asking me to advertise this class on my blog. I’m not receiving any compensation for talking about it. I just think it’s interesting.

“When I write I pretend I’m telling a story to someone in the room and I don’t want them to get up until I’ve finished.”

~ James Patterson

“I was always a good student, but I didn’t read that much until I was 18 and I was working my way through college.”

~ James Patterson

“I’m a very good storyteller; I have a lot of compassion for people. That’s very useful for a novelist. A lot of novelists are snots. They’re just mean people. I’m not a terribly skilled stylist, nor do I want to be. I was a lot of people to read one of my stories and go, ‘That was pretty cool.'”

~ James Patterson

19 thoughts on “James Patterson’s Master Class

  1. Just read this post. Have you started the class yet? I would love to hear what you think and if it’s still being offered I’m going to look into it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

