Anne of Green Gables Reboot!

For all you fans of Anne Shirley, I’m excited to announce that there is a reboot TV movie in the process!

YEEEESSSSS!!!!!

anne_shirley_and_gilbert_blythe_by_mcdalek-d68jqoi

Most of us who are current fans of Anne of Green Gables adaptations are familiar with the 1985 and 1987 versions of the TV movies. (I don’t like the 2000 continuing story. WAY off plot line).

Megan Follows and Jonathan Crombie (RIP) were the lead characters in the 80s version. And this time around, Martin Sheen is playing Matthew Cuthbert!

I’m usually pretty skeptical of any new adaptation of Anne because the man who owned the rights to the movies, Kevin Sullivan, did so much to the story that the original plots from the books were barely recognizable. And, L.M. Montgomery is one of THE most influential authors in my life. Far surpassing many of the popular authors of today. So I take these adaptations with a grain of salt and try not to get too upset.

But this time around, L.M. Montgomery’s granddaughter is one of the lead executive producers and is agreeing with this adaptation. So THAT really got me excited!

Of course, it probably won’t air in America right away because it’s being shot in Canada (as is proper). But I’m still so excited!

Have any of my Canadian brethren heard about this? What do you think? Is anyone else excited for this new adaptation?

Go check out one of the blurbs about it and see what you think.

Happy writing!

“It’s been my experience that you can nearly always enjoy things if you make up your mind firmly that you will.”
― L.M. MontgomeryAnne of Green Gables

“People laugh at me because I use big words. But if you have big ideas, you have to use big words to express them, haven’t you?”
― L.M. MontgomeryAnne of Green Gables

“I’d like to add some beauty to life,” said Anne dreamily. “I don’t exactly want to make people KNOW more… though I know that IS the noblest ambition… but I’d love to make them have a pleasanter time because of me… to have some little joy or happy thought that would never have existed if I hadn’t been born.”
― L.M. MontgomeryAnne’s House of Dreams

5 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Reboot!

  1. I had to read AOGG in seventh grade – we read it out loud as a class – and while I liked the (first) book, I’ve never actually seen any of the movies. Bur I may actually watch this one thanks to your description. Thank you! 🙂

    • The movies from the 80s are cute and well done as movies go, but there are definite inconsistencies that get worse with every movie. And Martin Sheen! I love him! I’ll definitely watch it when it comes out next year.

Leave a Reply

