The “Would You Rather” Book Tag

IMG_20130524_110814_567

Caroline over at carolinepeckham tagged me in the “Would You Rather” book tag post! She’s an amazing blogger and writer (hopefully soon-to-be author). She’s been blogging for just the last couple of months, but has put out some AMAZING posts and we’ve been commenting back and forth for weeks. I always learn something fun and new from her, so GO CHECK HER OUT!

Anywho, this post asks a series of questions as writers/readers, and here are my thoughts! Tagged peeps are at the bottom of the post.

1. Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?

Trilogies, without a doubt. Most of my favorite books are series’ books, though there are a few stand-alones in there, too. But I just love to learn more and more about characters and worlds and backstory, so more is always better for me. As Jane Austen says, “But for my own part, if a book is well written, I always find it too short.”

2. Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I enjoy them both, usually in different genres, but I’d probably go with female authors. My favorite author/most influential in my writing/reading life was female (L.M. Montgomery), and most of my favorite authors now are female. I’d definitely miss my Tolkien, Lewis, and Kipling, though.

3. Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

I’d rather shop at independent book stores, but since that’s not an option, I’ll go with Barnes and Noble. I’m one of those people that adores bookstores and is dangerous in them. I love to stroll through the aisles browsing, sitting in a chair to read a page or two while I make up my mind to buy, and immersing myself in the book atmosphere. I feel I don’t get that same experience online, though I am an avid Amazon customer. I’d still prefer a physical bookstore to an online one.

4. Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

TV!!! While I usually prefer movies to TV in general, my real love is TV miniseries. I can’t get enough of them. And they’re generally truer to the story than film because they can take more time and put in more of the plot that is so often missing from movies. And most of us book lovers prefer the book to the movie, so anything that will add more detail and be more comprehensive would be a huge bonus!

5. Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Five books per week. And that is actually can be a slow book week for me, depending on how busy I am at work. I’d never get through all the books I want to read with only five pages per day. I’d go batty.

6. Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Author!!! Who would want to be a reviewer over an author? I don’t understand that person. I RARELY do reviews, and I’ve never done one on WP. I also never read others’ reviews because they never change my opinion of the book and everyone has different tastes. Being an author is a lifelong dream that began when I was six. Hopefully it will happen in the next couple of years.

7. Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

Bookseller. There is so much more to being a librarian than just loaning books. My sister has her Masters Degree in Library Science and while some people might poo-poo that kind of degree, there is a great deal to it. It’s not just reading books and shelving books and such. Bookselling would be more personal for me and I could decide what to sell, where to sell, and could decorate my own store and hold my own events. Man, I’m starting to believe I might actually open a bookstore someday! Yowza!

8. Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

Favorite genre. I wouldn’t be able to give it up. I’d miss other genres, but not as much as I’d miss my favorite. Which is middle grade fantasy.

9. Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

Physical books. I own a Kindle, but I never use it. I’m old school. I just can’t get into the e-reader craze. Have I read e-books? Sure. I have some on my iPhone, but I don’t enjoy it. Although it makes my library of books enormous and it’s hard to pick which to take with me when I travel, I’d rather have to deal with that burden than give up physical books.

There you are! I hope you learned something or asked yourself some of these questions. In fact, why don’t you, and post some of your answers in the comments? I’d love to hear from you!

Here are the bloggers I’m tagging:

John Guillen

Emily Bates

Rachel Carrera

Herminia Chow

I look forward to your posts!

Happy writing!

“Writing a book is an adventure. To begin with it is a toy and an amusement. Then it becomes a mistress, then it becomes a master, then it becomes a tyrant. The last phase is that just as you are about to be reconciled to your servitude, you kill the monster and fling him to the public.”
― Winston S. Churchill

“Invention, it must be humbly admitted, does not consist in creating out of void but out of chaos.”
― Mary Shelley

“Be ruthless about protecting writing days, i.e., do not cave in to endless requests to have “essential” and “long overdue” meetings on those days. The funny thing is that, although writing has been my actual job for several years now, I still seem to have to fight for time in which to do it. Some people do not seem to grasp that I still have to sit down in peace and write the books, apparently believing that they pop up like mushrooms without my connivance. I must therefore guard the time allotted to writing as a Hungarian Horntail guards its firstborn egg.”
― J.K. Rowling

22 thoughts on “The “Would You Rather” Book Tag

  1. Fantastic! I love your comment reviews – Id never really considered it! I often use star ratings as a guide to choosing my next read but wouldn’t sit there reading ling reviews. One thing I do quite like doing is reading review posts on WP often if I’ve read the book myself just to see what other people thought haha

    • Well since I’m basically 85 inside, it shouldn’t be a surprise that I can’t remember your post on this. But it’s okay because I already know how you’d answer the questions.

    • Yay! I always look forward to your answers. Sometimes I know what you’re going to say, and other times, I’m intrigued and blown away by what you have to say. Either way, it’s fun to read.

Leave a Reply

