Breaking Into Graphic Novels

I broke down. I did! I gave in and bought a book when I wasn’t going to buy any new books until September. Does anyone remember that from this post? But I bought the book because I knew I would sit down and read it the next day.

And honestly… I bought it because it was Doctor Who day at Barnes & Noble on Friday! WOOT!!!

Thank you, bumblesbooks, for telling me about it. I went on a little weekend trip for the 4th and there was a store just a mile down the road from my hotel. Can you say…meant to be?

The problem was, the store was ridiculously underwhelming in its Whoishness.

Doctor Who Day

See? Phooey on them. I was expecting costumes and games and everything the advertisement promised.

I was disappointed. But I did pick up a few Who things to read and play. Including a graphic novel with Eleven (my fave) and Amy (mixed feelings).

I’d never read a graphic novel before because it just didn’t seem like my thing.

Then I remembered that I used to (and still occasionally) read comics all the time! I don’t mean comic books like Spiderman and such. I’m talking comics (in book form) such as Zits, Foxtrot, For Better or For Worse, Peanuts, and a few others.

If I like those, why wouldn’t I like a graphic novel?

Let me tell you, the art work was stunning. And it only took me about 35 minutes to read the 125 page novel. It flowed like a movie.

Though the plot was predictable (for a die-hard Whovian), it was entertaining and a good gateway to other graphic novels.

I chose a Doctor Who graphic novel because I knew I would like it. So now that I know graphic novels are fun, I may partake in the future.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy regular novels much more, but now I can say I tried something new in the reading world, and am branching out! Yay!

I think my next graphic novel foray will be a Neil Gaiman. Any suggestions? Do you like graphic novels? What are your favorites?

Happy writing!

“Doctor Who: You want weapons? We’re in a library. Books are the best weapon in the world. This room’s the greatest arsenal we could have. Arm yourself!

(from Tooth and Claw in Season 2)”
― Russell T. Davies
“We’re all stories, in the end.”
― Steven Moffat

“Amy Pond: ‘I thought… well, I started to think you were just a madman with a box.’
The Doctor: ‘Amy Pond, there’s something you better understand about me, ’cause it’s important and one day your life may depend on it. [He Smiles] I am definitely a madman with a box.”
― Steven Moffat

19 thoughts on “Breaking Into Graphic Novels

  1. Ooh! Ooh! Read Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke. You will love it. My niece just read a graphic novel called Sisters and loved it, but I haven’t read it yet.

Leave a Reply

