Hans Zimmer Is My Soundtrack

I’ve said in the past that I don’t listen to music when I write or edit, unless it’s relaxing instrumental music.

Welp…I’ve changed my mind.

The last few days I’ve been listening to my Hans Zimmer channel on Pandora, and it’s epic to say the least!

If you don’t know who Hans Zimmer is, go check him out. He’s easily one of my favorite movie composers ever! It’s a pretty even tie between him and Howard Shore and John Williams.

Since the book I’m working on is fantasy, the music he writes is so inspiring and dramatic. It makes for interesting editing and writing times. And since it’s all instrumental, mostly from movie soundtracks, I don’t get distracted like I do with regular songs. Bonus!

Here’s a selection of some beauteous Hans Zimmer.

What music do you like to listen to when writing/editing? Does it help put you in the right mood? Does it inspire you? Or do you get distracted by music like I often do because it’s just so amazing?

Happy writing!

“What’s the point of getting up in the morning unless you’re gonna have an adventure? As the moments of our life are ticking away you have to be aware that it needs to be an adventure.” ― Hans Zimmer
“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.” ― Victor Hugo

“Those who dance are considered insane by those who cannot hear the music.” ― Anonymous

21 thoughts on “Hans Zimmer Is My Soundtrack

  1. I’ve got a bunch of stuff from his Gladiator soundtrack on my writing playlist! You should also check out Michal Kamen, he did band of Brothers and The Pacific and stuff, love him!

  2. I love Hans Zimmer! Cool guy. My current favorite is Michael Giaccino. Mostly because his music is awesome, but also kind of because he comes up with hilarious titles for his songs on soundtracks. He did Star Trek and Up. And a bunch of other stuff, but those two are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

