“Is That All?”

Why do I hear this phrase so often? “Is that all?”

On almost a daily basis, I get asked at work, “So what did you do last night?”

My answer (for weekdays, anyways), is inevitably, I went home, had dinner, and worked on my books/writing/editing, etc.

Then comes the dreaded question. “Is that all?”

angry-woman

HHHWAAAARRRGGG!!!!!!

Don’t make me punch you in the shins!

Does nobody else in the world besides other writers understand how difficult and time consuming and altogether draining it is to write? They must think that, because it’s a “hobby” of mine, I shouldn’t put so much effort into it. Or they think that, because I’m sitting at a desk, or on a couch, or in my bed while I write, that I’m automatically lazy! Excuse me?!?!?!?!!!!

But then I say the same thing to them about their gardens or baking or TV watching. If it’s ‘just a hobby’ for them, why do they spend so much time on it?

When did the world get to the point that it’s okay to say you went home and watched a movie or TV, but it’s not acceptable to write all evening? Isn’t that thinking process a bit backwards?

Does anybody else experience this? How do you deal with it?

Happy writing! And I mean that most sincerely.

“Books are not about passing time. They’re about other lives. Other worlds. Far from wanting time to pass, one just wishes one had more of it. If one wanted to pass the time one could go to New Zealand.”
― Alan BennettThe Uncommon Reader

“I can elect something I love and absorb myself in it.”
― Anaïs NinThe Diary of Anaïs Nin, Vol. 1: 1931-1934

“Writing has become more than just a profession, and hobby…it has become a way to express my feelings and pour my entire soul into the pages of my books. Thank God for the little things in life that makes us feel infinite and tranquil…the little things that make way for us to escape reality and enter new worlds that we create.”
― Nina Jean Slack

20 thoughts on ““Is That All?”

  1. I love the Alan Bennett quote! I’ve always felt like I get “is that all” comments from the lack of cooking or taking care of children in my evenings more than for however I spend my “free” time. I’m jealous of your lack of laziness! Your use of time is totally impressive. I sacrifice way too much to Netflix.

  2. I think this all comes down to that ridiculous thinking that writing is somehow lesser than pretty much everything else out there someone can be doing. And it’s nothing more than ignorance.

  3. Yeah, that irks the bejeebers out of me, too! I bite my tongue not to say something like, “Oh, and just how many books have YOU written in your lifetime?” LOL! frankly, when you tell ME you spent your weekend working on your book, writing, editing, etc., I’m a little envious because I don’t have time for mine right now, and sleep deprivation is already killing me, so there’s no way to find more time in my schedule until a certain situation at work clears up. So to you, my friend, I sincerely say AWESOME! Good for you! What a great weekend you had! Keep up the great work! 😀

Leave a Reply

