A Day of Reading

It’s been a few long, hard months finishing up the most recent edit for my book, but I’m within pages of formatting it and shipping it out to agents.

With all the hard work and long nights after work polishing my story, I felt the need for a writing break.

So, today, aside from a few hours spent at a baby shower, I’ve enjoyed a couple books, lazing around the house and feeling cozy and sleepy while I read. Like I’m sitting cuddled up in front of a blazing fire in the middle of winter sipping hot chocolate.

A reading day was much needed.

Here are the books I’ve been reading today:

“The Nethergrim” by Matthew Jacobin

“Hooked – Write Fiction That Grabs Readers at Page One and Never Lets Them Go” by Les Edgerton. (I know it’s a book about writing, but it still counts as a good read).

“Egg & Spoon” by Gregory Maguire

They’re all interesting for different reasons, and I’ve been pawing my way through them.

I’m a polygamous reader, if you know what that means. I rarely read only one book at a time because most books can’t hold my attention long enough to read straight through in one go. But since I read well over a hundred novels/reference books/non-fiction/etc per year, I’m not really worried about my reading style.

As a writer, these reading days are essential. At times, we can get so mired in the logistics and demands of writing we forget that writers first began as readers. Usually voracious readers. So I’m working on my voracity today. 🙂

Go ahead. Grab a book, curl up in bed/on a couch/a big comfy pillow and read, read, read to fill your heart and mind with fresh faces, new ideas, and an ever-widening view of the world.

Happy reading!! (And writing, too).

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”
― George R.R. MartinA Dance with Dragons
“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”
― Dr. SeussI Can Read With My Eyes Shut!

“Her soul belongs to words and books. Every time she reads, she is home.”
― Anonymous

12 thoughts on “A Day of Reading

  1. I don’t know any of those books, and my little story idea is just barely jumping around in my head lately. BUT I read like 100-150 pages today to finish my current book. I just hope once I start working more I’ll still be able to read without needing a nap. I need to read six more this month to reach my mini goal of eight for the month. So I need many more reading days before the year is over.

    • 150 pages! Go you! The first book is a MG fantasy, the second is a writing reference book (which I know you’re not big on), the third is a YA re-telling of a Russian fairytale by the same guy who wrote “Wicked.”
      And getting used to full-time work takes a little while, especially considering your sleep needs, but you’ll adjust quickly, I’m sure.

  2. I liked “Hooked.” I read it when I was about 3/4 done writing my first novel. Because I don’t plan my writing, it helped me understand some of what I had done. That was very reassuring. It also helped me tighten up the word count somewhat (it’s still a long book) when I was editing. And Edgerton is a “local” author, which was a fun bonus.

    • Is he local to you? How fun! I greatly enjoyed his book. I cannot tell you how many first chapter/line/paragraph/page editions I’ve written. I compared mine to his book and found it fairly on target. As on target as I can guess based on my knowledge of his text. It was a great read. And not too long! I have quite a library of writing references, and some of them are WAY too long. Considering how often we hear ‘experts’ say to decrease word count, they certainly did not for their books.

    • I’ve researched SO MANY AGENTS!!! I’ve finally narrowed it down to three waves of submissions, with about 15 in each wave. But it’ll still take another week or so to tailor my query and such to each agency.

Leave a Reply

