Little Free Library

I’ve found one at last!!

IMG_2116

And to my utter shame, it was only four houses down from where I’m currently staying. How did I not notice this for THREE months?!?!?!

Shame, shame, shame.

But I was overjoyed because taking a few books on loan from this wonderful little gem does NOT count against my book buying diet! HA!

Especially since I have six books (to the three I took) that are ready to be put back in there for others to enjoy. And I’ll probably also return the three I borrowed, as well.

So here’s my score from the Little Free Library:

IMG_2117 IMG_2118 IMG_2119

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

Prey by Michael Crichton

Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

I find it odd that with all the children’s books I read, I haven’t yet read Because of Winn-Dixie. It’s only 100 pages long or so and with a LOT of space between lines, so why haven’t I read it? Or maybe I did as a child and just forgot. Let’s be honest, here. I started reading at a young age, but didn’t start keeping track of everything I read until recently. I’m sure there are a lot of repressed memories of books flying around this old noodle of mine.

I think these Little Free Libraries are a genius way to get more people reading who don’t have access to a library or book store. I’m so glad to be staying in a town (until November) that has not one, but TWO, of these libraries.

What do you think? Have you heard of Little Free Libraries? Have you used one? Which of these books have you read, if any?

Happy writing! And reading!

“If you don’t know history, then you don’t know anything. You are a leaf that doesn’t know it is part of a tree. ”
― Michael Crichton

“There ain’t no way you can hold onto something that wants to go, you understand? You can only love what you got while you got it.”
― Kate DiCamilloBecause of Winn-Dixie

“I like to imagine that the world is one big machine. You know, machines never have any extra parts. They have the exact number and type of parts they need. So I figure if the entire world is a big machine, I have to be here for some reason. And that means you have to be here for some reason, too.”
― Brian SelznickThe Invention of Hugo Cabret

18 thoughts on “Little Free Library

  1. I want a Little Free Library in my town. I’d put one at my house, but it’s on a curve close to the highway and at the end of town where only people zip by at unreasonably high speeds. But I want to get the Friends of the Library here to maybe sponsor one. They are so cool, though I have never been to one. I love the whole invention of them!

  2. Yay!! I love the Little Free Libraries. There are a ton around where I live. Actually, we just went to the Chick-Fil-A in Bellevue, and they had one in the restaurant. It made me super happy!

Leave a Reply

