The Twitter Conundrum

Yes, it has come to this.

I *may* be joining the masses of people on Twitter. And I’m not happy about it.

This is entirely part of my quest to build a more solid author platform. Every book on writing I’ve read states that, in modern publishing, an online presence and online platform is huge.

But so far, the only social media I actually enjoy is WP. I have Facebook and use it, but every time I open it, I get discouraged, or frustrated, or feel like I want to slap someone.  I don’t want that to happen on Twitter.

I also know writers who have pitched log lines and queries and books via Twitter and have had good responses from agencies and publishers who are also on Twitter.

I really don’t want another social media obligation, but I feel it is pressing on me if I truly want to be a published author. Will this show more people that I take my writing seriously? Even though the idea of Twitter makes me shudder?

What do you think? I need advice!!!

Happy writing!

“It shouldn’t be about getting famous. It shouldn’t be about the size of your following. It should be about the way in which you connect with people in the world around you. It’s about finding what you’re truly passionate about, and letting that guide you. Fame is fleeting. But if you’re really lucky, doing what you love can last forever.”
― Justine Ezarik

“In a social media world, the danger is being overexposed and when something is overexposed it is no longer interesting…if ever it was.”
― Donna Lynn Hope

“I love social media. I love the connectivity it provides, the creativity it allows, and the breathtaking wealth of information we all have at our fingertips because of it.”
― Galit BreenKindness Wins

16 thoughts on “The Twitter Conundrum

      • I think it’s a good way to connect with people in the industry. Maybe give it a shot and see how much you like Twitter? Sorry my comment didn’t go through at first. 😦

      • No prob!
        I probably will try it. And if it doesn’t pan out, I can always delete my account. I just don’t want more social media to take away time from my writing. I know people say if it’s important, make time for it, and we do have to do our own marketing at times, but I don’t want to spend so much time building my platform I lose my passion for the reason I’m building said platform in the first place. Does that make sense?

  1. As with blogging, for any form of social media to work for you, it’s not what you know, but who you know. If you have a large family and many close friends, all of whom enthusiastically support your writing, who embrace Twitter, and who will gladly re-tweet your every utterance, you’ll have that highly touted online presence and platform. If not, well, you’ll pick up a few sincere followers here and there, but for the most part, you’ll be drowned out by the white noise.

    • That’s what I most worry about. Being drowned out by the other millions of people on Twitter. And the other thousands of writers trying to get published by following agencies and publishers and pitch contests and the like.

  2. If you do join, we can have hilarious conversations about Doctor Who and books and stuff, and then we’ll beth get a million followers because we’re that awesome. That’s how it works, right? Seriously though, I would be super happy if you joined so I could have someone to interact with more on there.

    • Woohoo!!! That would be awesome. We’ll be the coolest geeks on the internet. 🙂
      I just don’t know what my Twitter handle would be. Something about writing, maybe, but I don’t want to make it my full name, either.
      And I’m all for another medium to chat with you on. (Another medium in which to chat? Whatever) That would be superb.

  3. I picked up Twitter for similar reasons and was similarly reluctant. I have to say, though, once I got a hold of it, it quickly grew into my favorite social media. For many reasons.

    If for nothing else, at least set up one for the sake of saying, “There. It’s done.” Model it after your brand and find some worthwhile people or companies to follow. If you need someone to add, add me. ^_^ @S_R_Carrillo

    • Thanks! I’ll be sure to find you if/when I join. I think it’s only a matter of time before it happens. I’ve been fighting it for so long, but if I want to be serious about my writing, I’m sure I’ll have to do it eventually, anyway.

      • I mean, it’s not like it’s a requirement or anything. It’s strongly encouraged so much because it actually helps writers. It’s not like people say to join for the hell of it hahah. There are all kinds of resources to find through Twitter and it connects you to all these people – other writers, readers, agents and query contests, indie support and so much more. I’m sure you won’t come to think of it as a burden once you learn the ropes and start actually connecting with people and other useful aspects of Twitter. Like I said, you shouldn’t feel obligated, but there’s a reason it’s so highly encouraged. You know? I hope that all makes sense haha.

      • Oh, I know. And it does make sense. 🙂 I’m about to leap over the fence and join. I’m struggling with my handle. It should be obvious, but I just don’t know how much of my real name I want to include.

  4. Twitter is so much better than social media sites like Facebook.
    It took me a while to get into Twitter and I’m still not totally familiar but it’s such a friendly place and I never feel discouraged on it. I’m always being lifted up as I connect with the many bloggers there. I also meet new people through Twitter.
    Twitter also is great because they have chats where they use a hashtag and they all chat through it. They have a lot for book bloggers and lovers but who knows? Maybe they have some foe authors and aspiring writers!
    xoxo 💋

    • I hope it will be a good experience. I feel like FB is just people I know from growing up and work and such, and we don’t have many of the same views or ideas or morals and such. But joining Twitter, for me, would be finding only those people that share my love of books and writing. I wouldn’t have time to follow all my FB friends on Twitter. And I wouldn’t want to.
      Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

