Book, Interrupted

Oh, shame on me. But also, not.

I was at the laundromat tonight when an older gentleman started chatting me up.

Now, normally I wouldn’t mind, but I had my nose BURIED in a book! And I mean, I was engrossed in it without any thought for the world until I heard the buzzer for my laundry.

I answered as politely as I could, and kept trying to read, but he kept talking.

I’m pretty sure my RBF showed up somewhere in there, because I hate being interrupted when I’m reading. Hate it.

Blargh!

But my parents raised me to be respectful, so I conversed with the man. Though my mind was firmly entrenched in the book world I’d been torn from.

How do you respond when someone interrupts you while reading? Do you go all snarly inside like me? Or is it not that big of a deal? Am I overreacting?

Happy writing and reading!

“Hell hath no fury like a woman interrupted while reading a really good book.” ~ Lauren Hunter

5 thoughts on “Book, Interrupted

    • I should do that, but I don’t. That’s an excellent idea. I just don’t understand why, when someone is reading or has headphones on, people assume that is the best time to start chatting. Clearly, I’m not in the mood for socializing and solidly in the mood for reading.

  1. Just reading about your experience annoyed me. Sometimes I (pretend to) bury my head in a book and stick headphones in my ear (even if I’m not playing music) to reinforce the message: don’t bother me.

Leave a Reply

