#PitMad Novice

Yesterday I participated in my first #PitMad, which is basically a pitch party on Twitter for your book. You pitch it in the 140 characters or less with that hashtag and pray that some agent trolling the feed will favorite your pitch or contact you about submitting a query letter and sample pages.

I was not one of those few yesterday. But it was a great learning experience.

I learned that crafting decent pitches it stinkin’ hard! Maybe even harder than query letters!

I had the amazing advice of one of my writing buddies, who is always so helpful, but I still felt like the pitches lacked punch.

Something that gave me hope, however, is an agent who said that not all books are pitchable in under 140 characters.

Emily, my writing buddy, would have to vouch for this, but I think that my book/series is one such case. It’s a massive undertaking with the basic good vs. evil type deal, but so complex in its intricacies and history that it was hard to narrow down what was really important.

I’ll keep trying to pitch in the future, but I think querying might be the way to go for me. Though I ABHOR querying, I’m able to spend about two paragraphs pitching my book instead of two sentences.

Anyone else tried pitching on Twitter? What was your experience?

Happy writing!

 

“As a book author, it’s your responsibility to cast a vision for your book about the length and appearance before you pitch the idea to a publisher.”
― W. Terry WhalinBook Proposals That Sell: 21 Secrets to Speed Your Success

 

“Publishing is a business and writing is an art. The two have to be crammed together despite the clearly different motivations behind them.”
― Michelle M. Pillow

5 thoughts on “#PitMad Novice

  1. You’re awesome for going for it! Pitches are SO absurdly hard. I should let you read some of the ones I’ve tried to write for both Demon’s Heart and NOVUS. You will laugh. And it’s true, I think for many books (including yours) 140 characters is just not enough space. Even when cutting out many of the subtleties and side plots, a good story is incredibly complex and difficult to boil down so much.

  2. That’s awesome experience though. One of the things I learned as I moved up in academia is that writing short is much harder than writing long, but it’s such a great tool to have. How are you finding out about all this though? Are there specific hashtags you follow or like a master calendar? Tell me your secrets!

    • I just follow a ton of agents and publishers. This one came from Brenda Drake, who hosts pitmad. She’s also an author. I just started following a few agents I knew, then looked at who they followed. And when I heard about pitch wars, I started investigating other pitching opportunities.

Leave a Reply

