Coffee Shop Kook

Home is my enemy right now.

Completely.

I’ve been more productive in my writing in an hour or two at a coffee shop in the middle of my workday than I am for hours at home on the weekends or after work.

Gah!!!

I’m sure it’s because I get distracted by all the things that need doing or that I would like to be doing besides writing. Although I adore writing, I’m in the middle of a massive rewrite and it’s a LOT of work, so I look for things that are easier.

I haven’t had any success at home, so I’m essentially living at three different coffee shops around town. Thankfully, everyone is nice is about it, although my patients do notice I smell like coffee quite a bit.

I’m not a coffee drinker, but the smell of the beans after they’ve been ground seeps into my clothes. I’m fine with it. Eau de Coffee ain’t so bad.

Where’s your most productive location? Not your favorite location, your most productive. Home? Office? Work? Coffee Shop? Frigid street corner?

 

Happy writing!

 

“Hofstadter’s Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter’s Law”
― Douglas R. Hofstadter

“To be disciplined is to follow in a good way. To be self disciplined is to follow in a better way.”
― Corita Kent

2 thoughts on “Coffee Shop Kook

  1. I’m supposed to be writing a novel for my dissertation and I find I’m absolutely terrible at working in my uni room! I’ve spent the last week in the library and I seem to do okay there, but I am quite a fan of coffee shops too – I like the mellow atmosphere and the fact that no one else seems stressed out, it takes my mind off my work load 🙂

    • I agree! Mellow with fun decor and awesome smells! (Even though I don’t like coffee that much, I love the smell of it). Libraries are wonderful things, but are a bit too formal for my creative juices to flow like they’re supposed to. Good luck with your dissertation!! I remember those days-though mine wasn’t a novel, it was scientific research. I think I prefer the noveling much more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

