In Training Mode

This latest rewrite, which is, by far, the best stuff I’ve ever written, has pushed me into a whole new level of motivation and creativity for my writing.

To the point where I am training my body to wake earlier and earlier each week so I can get to a coffee shop or cafe in the wee hours to write until I have to see my first patient.

And you know what? It’s awesome!!!

Don’t get me wrong… I’ve been super tired the last couple weeks in the morning, but the payoff has been huge in the way of productivity and word count and immense fortification of the creative juices

I should have known. I’ve always been more of a morning person, anyway, but I just didn’t want to get up at the armpit of dawn to write.

Currently, my alarm is set for just before 6, but I’m hoping to back that up to 5 a.m. over the next few weeks.

I won’t overtax myself if I need a morning off, because we all do, but the best writing I’ve ever done is bubbling forth from this fountain of morning inspiration and motivation.

So… I shall continue!

What have you changed or had to adjust to for the sake of your writing? Have you given anything else up in order to make time/room for your writing?

Happy writing!

 

“Morning is wonderful. Its only drawback is that it comes at such an inconvenient time of day.”
― Glen CookSweet Silver Blues

“Write in the morning, revise in the afternoon, read at night, and spend the rest of your time exercising your diplomacy, stealth, and charm.”

― Roberto BolañoThe Savage Detectives

7 thoughts on “In Training Mode

    • Oh boy, I think it started back during school times. Especially when I had two a day practices while on the swim team. Then when I was in college and grad school, all my classes started early, so I got into the habit, and I’ve never been one for sleeping in. Right after grad school, I started working and started at 7:30 a.m., and it was a 45 min drive, so I had to be up no later than six. Lately, I’ve been getting up later, closer to seven or eight because I’m doing home care and can make my own schedule, but I’ve noticed I’m not as productive or active with that schedule, so I started setting my clock earlier every few days. I gave myself up to a week to get used to the new alarm time. Now all I have to do is add some exercise to my morning writing workout. I’m hoping to get it down to five a.m. six days a week. We’ll see how it goes over time. I guess this whole spiel was one really long way of saying… make it a gradual transition.

      • Ah, that makes sense. Your lifestyle calls for you to be up early. I used to be a morning person back when I had classes at 8 or so. But now thanks to university and pure luck, I have classes later in the afternoon or evening. I still get up early to dance among other things, but I don’t have to be up as early. I’d like to start waking up earlier because I find I’m more productive. Thanks for the spiel. I’ll see what I can do. Here’s to both of us making gradual transitions!

Leave a Reply

